RSS Feed

Gas Cooktop – Fail

00R0R_iphljgnrmnH_600x450
Remember the gas cooktop that I was so excited about?  The one found on Craigslist for a great price and there was even talk of stars aligning?  Yeah, well, as it turns out, not so much.  J did a ton of research on installing these things and decided that he just wasn’t comfortable dealing with natural gas, which is completely understandable.  We called our local plumber out and he couldn’t install it because the drop-in part of the cooktop is too big for the opening in the counter and since the dishwasher is on the other side, there isn’t enough counter to cut to make it fit.  We were too eager and uninformed when we made our purchase.  I saw a 30″ cooktop and thought it would fit because it never once occurred to me that the drop-in parts are not at all standard.  It was a good deal, just not for us.  We are going to get a second opinion to see if there’s anything that can be done. If not, we’ll try to re-sell it on Craigslist.  In the meantime, we are considering this to be a lesson learned as we go back to the drawing board.  Know thy drop-in measurements!

What about you?  Have you ever bought anything in haste only to regret it later?  Ha – no one ever does that, right?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 15 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. This sounds like a move and mistake I would have made. Of course, I would never live it down with my hubby. ;) He’s a good sport, and so is your husband, for putting up with our Craigslist dreams. :D

    Reply
    • Yes, he is a good sport ;-) He even mentioned that might be a possibility but I didn’t want to lose my “good deal” and was just positive it would fit. Oh, well, lesson learned. I have found lots of good stuff on CL, though, and won’t stop dreaming, ha ha.

      Reply
  2. I haven’t but when my husband and I were renting, the house’s fridge died on us. The owner bought a new one, paid to have it installed…only to find out it was too big to fit in the kitchen (it was a tiny little house). We had to keep it plugged in outside for 3 days while she figured out the return/exchange. Luckily it was summer but it was ridiculous having to go outside for all of our food. Hopefully you’ll find a willing buyer for this if it doesn’t work out!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Kitchen is Still the Heart of our Home | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

