RSS Feed

The Kitchen is Still the Heart of our Home

After J hung the shelves over the prep table, I “styled” them. I don’t have that special knack for artfully arranging things that so many others seem to possess. It takes me a few times to get something that’s balanced and pleasing to the eye. These shelves are also supposed to be useful so I don’t want them to be cluttered with a lot of useless bits and object d’art. My first attempt had a lot going on.
DSC00208
After living with it for a few weeks, I knew that the bright yellow painting my daughter made me had to be relocated because it just didn’t flow with the kitchen. The turquoise boxes for J’s fancy tasting spoons really popped against everything else so I took everything down and started over. I moved the painting to the master bedroom and found a dark basket in which to hide the spoon boxes.  I also moved the other items around so now things look a little less cluttered and a lot more cohesive. Here’s what I have now.
DSC00325
Here’s the painting in our bedroom where I can see it every morning when I wake-up.
DSC00334
It works with the yellow “highlights” I already have in the room and I’m not sure why I didn’t think of moving it there before.

Slowly, but surely, J and I are moving toward our shared vision of our “dream kitchen”.
Screen shot 2013-12-30 at 7.35.16 PM
In fact, we got a second opinion on the gas cooktop and it’s now installed! There’s still an issue with moving the regulator so the drawer can fully go back in and as soon as it’s finished, I’ll post some pictures. I’m thrilled that we didn’t have to get a different cooktop or have to re-sell the one we’d already purchased. At this point, the drawer is a minor issue which can (hopefully) be easily remedied. There are still a few  other things we want to do:

1. Replace the double sink with a single bowl.

2. Replace the faucet with a higher arched model for filling large pots and buckets.

3. Have the garbage disposal removed.  It’s old, rusting and leaking.  We thought about replacing it but since we’re on a septic system, we don’t put any food scraps down our sink anyway.  After much research, we’ve decided to get rid of it altogether and get the pipe replaced under the sink.

4.  Install a couple of magnetic knife strips for our butcher knives.

5.  Fill the existing holes in the mortar of our brick wall and install some hooks for our cast iron skillets.

6.  Buy two more LÄMPLIG chopping boards for the counter.  We bought one about a month ago and it is awesome.  A great value at $9.99.

This kitchen has been on an almost four- year journey of discovery and is finally feeling comfortable in its own skin.  I’ve loved the kitchen since the moment I saw it and, while it’s evolved quite a bit from my original interpretation, I’m still trying to honor the home’s ‘bones’.  I hope the house likes it.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 15 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Love!

    Emory

    helloscarlettblog.com

    Reply
  2. Ooooh! it´s so nice! I really love this storage zone of your kitchen Jenny!
    I think it´s pretty and useful too!
    Have a great week sweetie!

    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

