RSS Feed

Are you bored with your relationship?

Is your heart fickle?  Does the thing that thrills you one day, leave you feeling deflated the next?  I’m talking about the relationship with your bedding.  Wait, what did you think I was talking about?   You did?  Well, shame on you.  I’m not that kind of girl.

You see, it started with this white quilt I bought off ebay a good 5-6 years ago.  It was originally from Kohl’s and, at this point, I have no idea what it originally cost, but I bought it for around $20.00 plus shipping, which wasn’t more than $10.00.  Let’s call it at $30.00 for expediency sake.

This purchase came when we first decided to go with a black and white theme, mainly because we were living in a rental that was, not surprisingly, painted all white.  This quilt served me well until I became predictably bored with it.  At that point, I got the idea that I really wanted a black and white quilt.  I sort of begged my mother-in-law to make me one and she agreed.  She’s good like that.  I’ve probably mentioned that before.  Anyway, she had us pick a design and we went with a half log cabin.  (At least I think that’s what it is.  If I’m wrong, please correct me.)

It turned-out beautifully and she even made it reversible

Our quilt is gorgeous with her geometric shapes and bold prints.  I love her fiercely.   She satisfied all my desires until we moved into this house, painted the accent wall black, found THE inspiration picture and I became, well, bored.  Look, it’s not you, it’s me.  Really.

That’s when I found this beauty at Target.

She’s from the Dwell Studio line and the yellow screamed my name.  Literally.  Screamed.  I had to have it.  I began to obsess about it.  I looked at it every day.  I couldn’t justify the purchase, though.  I had TWO perfectly good quilts that fit our color scheme, that were completely serviceable and fulfilled my every need.  But I couldn’t get her out of my head.  Finally, J basically ordered me to buy it, probably so I would stop obsessing about it, and I did.  At this point I must make a confession.  Please come closer.  Closer.  A little closer, as this is very difficult for me.  I paid full retail price.  I admit it.  Full retail.  Didn’t even wait for it to go on sale.  I know – you’re shocked and appalled.  I apologize.  I don’t know what to say.  I didn’t know what else to do.  I was struck in a moment of insanity.  It was pure lust and need and greed and….  I’m truly ashamed.  When it arrived, however, I was IN LOVE.    Her yellow made my heart sing.  Her bold graphic design captured my heart and I was a goner.  I stroked her gently and told her I would never let anything happen to her, ever.    Then I got worried.  Very worried that something would happen to my beloved.  So one day, not long after, I was cruising through Target’s clearance in the bedding department and I found this:

I don’t love her I have to admit.  But, she was quick, available and the price was right.  $37.98 on clearance.  I figured I could change her out with the others, so I could protect my beloved from certain doom. Plus, it included a tailored bed skirt, which I did not previously have. Before I was using a black fitted sheet over the box spring, which gives the bed a platform feel and does give me more options.

Now, I have a harem of bedding and I am so very, very happy.  The thing is, I figured-out I could mix and match my bedding.  I’m never bored anymore.  I’m a genius!  Okay, I’m not, but having options has really spiced up my life.  The accent pillow from Target’s Dwell Studio line is reversible to a black and white stripe, so I can use it with the other sets.  The happy yellow pillow, previously discussed here from Pillow Happy, is a welcome addition to them all.  Every couple of months I change out the bedding and now I have endless options.  White quilt with black and white quilt folded at the edge, black and white quilt with white quilt folded at the edge, white quilt with Dwell Studio pillow shams, Dwell studio set with black pillow shams, black comforter with white circles along with pillow reversed to black and white stripe…  The possibilities are mind-boggling!

We also have two sets of sheets, one striped and one polka dotted.  These are both from Target, although I don’t remember exactly how much they cost.  We’ll call it $50.00 for both because I know they weren’t more than that.  Both sets are 100% cotton and feel great.  I’ve found that Target has some really great deals on higher quality, lower priced sheets.

I know four different quilts/comforter/duvet sets may seem excessive but, honestly, I still didn’t spend as much on those four as I could have spent on one.  Here’s the breakdown:

White quilt:            $30.00

Black and White quilt: Free (to me, because it was a gift.  Thank you Mommy!)

Dwell Studio for Target, including accent pillow:  $79.98 (plus, I had free shipping)

Target black and white circles:  $37.98

Sheets:  $50.00

Black pillow cases:  $4.99 for the pair

Black fitted sheet (from Ollie’s Bargain Outlet): $3.99

TOTAL:  $206.94

(The happy yellow pillow was $32.00, but I included it in the total on our Master Bedroom post.)

So, what I’ve learned from all of this is that I honestly didn’t need either of the sets from Target, but they make me insanely happy so that, in, and of itself,  makes them worthwhile.  Also, I’ve learned to stop perusing sites like Target, because they just incite my lust.  By keeping my eyes homeward, I am led out of temptation and back into my safe, less expensive haven.  Finally, when I get that bored feeling, instead of spending money when it’s completely unnecessary, I just change things up and my senses are re-excited.

The moral to the story is, if you’re feeling bored in your relationships, whatever they may be, instead of looking for something new, try changing things up at home and I’ll bet that bored feeling will disappear, wink, wink, nudge, nudge.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Redemption « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: K’s Room « sugarshellandbutterknife

  3. Pingback: What I got for Christmas (and it wasn’t my front teeth) « sugarshellandbutterknife

  4. Pingback: What my bed is wearing today « sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: And then it got muggy « sugarshellandbutterknife

  6. Pingback: The $100 Blanket « sugarshellandbutterknife

  7. Pingback: Impulse Purchase « sugarshellandbutterknife

  8. Pingback: Marimekko (I was coerced) « sugarshellandbutterknife

  9. Pingback: Channeling Our Inner Children | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

