RSS Feed

Redemption

In light of yesterday’s stunning confession, wherein I admitted to paying full retail price for this duvet set from the Dwell Studio line at Target, I felt it was necessary to redeem myself, especially since my actions were in complete contradiction to my personal motto of “use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without”.

A while back, the plain white quilt had a run-in with a nasty top-loading washing machine.

It needed repairing, but was way too shredded to be simply mended with needle and thread, at least not neatly.   I knew I was going to have to patch it somehow, but my sewing skills are pretty rudimentary.   I thought about it for a bit and came up with a plan.

I snagged a plain white fabric remnant from my mother-in-law’s extensive quilt stash and cut two pieces 5” X 5”.

I then ironed a half-inch seam all the way around and stitched the hem.

I pinned the patch over the shredded area, which extended to both sides.  I didn’t think my machine could handle quilting through all of those layers so I sewed the patches on one at a time. (I later found out that, in fact, my machine could handle all of the layers, but I didn’t know it at the time.)

It looked pretty good, but I thought it could blend in better.

I went ahead and quilted through the patches, to match the quilting on the rest of the blanket.

I was seriously impressed with myself.  (It doesn’t take much.)  When I showed my handiwork to J, he didn’t see the patch job at first.  His eyes had trouble locking-in to the exact spot, which to me, equals success.

So, there you have it.  Patching the quilt is definitely more in keeping with the spirit of frugality, rather than tossing it aside and buying something else at full retail, ahem.

What about you?  What have you salvaged lately?  Let me know!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

