RSS Feed

Challenge Update

Monday night’s challenge to myself, wherein I decided to forego the grocery and create meals from staples on hand, started-out with gusto.  We rustled-up a culinary feast of fish sticks, green beans from our garden and mac and cheese made from some dry elbow pasta, the Aldi version of Velveeta and a little bit of leftover shredded cheddar.  It really was tasty and satisfying, and I even managed to make some tartar sauce for my sticks.  All-in-all, I was quite pleased.  I have no picture because it didn’t occur to me to take one until just right this minute.  Instead, I’ll just show you this picture of a creepy clown cake I made once:

Yesterday went down hill from there because J and I ended-up going out to dinner.  We did split a meal and small appetizer to keep both calories and total down, so it wasn’t all bad.  But, we spent money we didn’t intend to because we were tired and lazy, thus negating the challenge to myself.

That brings me to today.  Weeeeeelllllll, today I went to the turkey farm with my mother-in-law and bought three kinds of turkey sausage, a pound of turkey pastrami and a pound of cheese.  There, I said it.   We don’t eat pork, though, and finding good turkey sausage products can be a challenge, so when she called and asked if I wanted to go, I initially said no, but then rethought things and said yes.  Plus, it was nice spending the time with her, so totally worth in anyway.

So, that’s where I’m at with the challenge to myself.  Since it’s only with myself, though, I’m not going to be too hard on myself, because this is merely a suggestion and not a requirement.   Those are the rules I made for myself and I’m pretty lenient, so, yeah..  I’m just going to try and do better, because that’s all that can be asked of any of us, really.

Anyway, have any of you challenged yourself this week?  What have you made from the ingredients on hand?  Summons your inner Iron Chef and let me know.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

