RSS Feed

Can you sense the change? Pumpkin cravings ahead.

School started this week and already I can feel summer coming to a close.  It’s still very warm, but I can sense the coming changes.  This feeling first manifested itself in the form of a craving for something pumpkin.  I also wanted to do something a little special for the kids’ first day back to school, so I made some pumpkin muffins for breakfast.

I love this recipe I found on Smitten Kitchen a couple of years ago and have been using it ever since, adapted slightly for my taste.

Pumpkin Muffins

Makes 1 dozen muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin (from a 15 ounce can)

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

1-2 teaspoons of vanilla

1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice

1/8 tsp. of ground ginger

1  cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Put oven in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Put liners in muffin cups.

Whisk together pumpkin, oil, eggs, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, ground ginger, 1 cup sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth, then whisk in flour and baking powder until just combined.

Stir together cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar in another bowl.

Divide batter among muffin cups (each should be about three-fourths full), then sprinkle tops with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake until puffed and golden brown and wooden pick or skewer inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

Cool in pan on a rack five minutes, then transfer muffins from pan to rack and cool to warm or room temperature.

These are delicious and my kids gobble them up.  They’re also very budget-minded, especially if you buy your canned pumpkin in the fall when it’s on sale and store it for use throughout the year.  It will keep in your cupboards a long time. Also, one 15 ounce can of pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling – there is a difference) will yield two batches of muffins.  If I don’t need 2 dozen at the moment, I use half the can and freeze the other half.  Then I can have more muffins any time I want.

What about you?  Can you sense fall coming?  Had any fall-related cravings of your own?

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

