RSS Feed

One way to get some fun stuff for free, or nearly free

A couple of years ago, I was invited to join e-Rewards, an online survey program that gives points for each survey completed.  e-Rewards has a tiered system of rewards based on the amount of points you accumulate.  The lower amount of points you cash in, the lower level of reward you receive.  A lot of the rewards are points that can be added to frequent flyer miles, hotel points, etc., or magazine subscriptions.  I suppose these items might be useful if you have frequent flyer miles or hotel rewards, which I don’t.  Some of the magazine subscriptions are nice, especially if it’s a magazine to which you already subscribe.  However, there is a little gem that I always choose, which is the $25.00 Macy’s gift card which “costs” $45 in e-Reward credits.  To me, this is the most valuable reward because I can use it for anything I want.  I don’t often get to splurge on “fun stuff” so I wait until I’ve earned enough points, cash in my reward and go shopping!

This past week, I went to Macy’s and scored the following items for a total of $1.61 using my gift card:

 

I’ve been wanting some new salt and pepper shakers, but couldn’t justify the expense since we had a perfectly serviceable set.  With my $25.00 Macy’s card I was able to purchase these adorable owl salt and pepper shakers, along with this super cute set of prep bowls, which happen to match my dinnerware perfectly.

In the past, I’ve also scored this nice whisky decanter set, including glasses, with a Macy’s gift card for a total $2.88 out-of-pocket:

I’ve also used these cards for gifts at Christmas and birthdays, which has been most helpful.  Overall, I’ve really found the e-Rewards program to be, well, rewarding.  Some of the program reviews online are rather negative because not all of the rewards are useful.  If you know what to look for, though, it can be a good experience.  Depending upon which company asks you to join, I believe the rewards can change, as well.  Plus, the surveys can be a lot of fun and generally don’t take much time.  I’ve also received a few products to try at home and evaluate, so that’s been an added bonus because you get to keep whatever product you’re sent in addition to receiving credits for your time.

What about you?  Do any of you belong to any survey programs and, if so, what experiences have you had?  What rewards have you earned?  Let me know!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Loving It! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: The $100 Blanket « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

