RSS Feed

K’s Room

K’s room was the easiest, and most economical, to finish.  It was a blank slate when we started.

When we moved, the one thing she requested was that her room be painted a light green.  I made my usual trek to the mis-tint shelf and, lo and behold, there was a gallon of light green.  I have no idea what the color name is but it’s a cooler green, maybe even a tad “minty”.  She was pleased with the color and I was pleased with the price, so it was a hit!

After we got the room painted, I asked her what she wanted to do in there decorating-wise and she said she wanted a “nature theme”.  I started going through all the things we already had from her old room and found that there was quite a bit that was nature-oriented, including her butterfly valances and decorative bed pillows that my mother-in-law had made a few years ago.  We bought a few more items, such as some removable wall stickers from the dollar store, which we used to decorate the walls and furniture, a leaf canopy from IKEA and  a duvet set from IKEA that I no longer see on their website.  We already had the furniture, which were all hand-me-downs.  I painted both dressers with the green paint and refinished the knobs in a black metallic sparkle.  We worked on it over the course of two days and, when we were finished, J said it looked like a fairy had thrown-up in there.  I guess that means our mission was accomplished.

 

K already had this giant butterfly kite, which we mounted on the wall.

When K’s aunt heard that she wanted a nature theme, she gave us a bag full of little butterflies she had left-over from a craft project and we hung them from the ceiling using fishing line to appear as if they’re floating.

J bought K this painting for Christmas several years ago after she admired it in a local restaurant that decorates with works from local artists.  It fit right in with her nature-theme.

Finally, the message we strive to impart on our children:

As I’ve said before, I’m no decorator, so my goal was simply to give my daughter the kind of room she wanted in a style that suited her needs.  We had a lot of decorative items that we were able to use from her old room, along with a a few items that were given to us during the course of decorating.  In addition, the wall stickers from the dollar store were a great bargain and a really inexpensive way to add a lunch of punch to the room without spending a lot of money.  This room was super cheap to complete and my daughter’s friends are all envious.  They thinks it’s really cool and love spending time in there with K.

Here’s the breakdown:

Furniture:  Free (K’s bed was a hand-me-down from my nephews, the small dresser not pictured is from J’s boyhood and the large chest of drawers was given to us by a friend of my mother-in-law’s)

Leaf canopy: $14.99

Bed Linens (including “K” pillow and body pillow): $35.00

Wall stickers:  $7.00 (we used several different kinds including butterflies and flowers)

Paint: $10.00

Total:  $66.99

For her birthday, my mother-in-law made K the most amazing quilt with matching pillows, so K has now started her own collection of bed linens to swap-out, much like the lovely collection I have going in our bedroom.  I will be back with picture of that soon.  First, though, K has to clean her room enough that I can take a presentable picture.  I’m not a stylist, and we make no pretenses around here, but I really do have to draw the line at posting abject filth for all the world to see. I’m sure you understand.

Share your thoughts!  What budget-friendly ideas do you have for kid rooms?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

