RSS Feed

Yum!

A few weeks back, we had a family bbq, to meet my nephew’s fiancee’s family.  Got that?  Okay.  At any rate, I was supposed to bring a side-dish and, as part of my challenge to myself, I was only trying to use what I had on hand or use what was available  to me based on shopping lists created to specific menus throughout the week.  In other words, I was too cheap to buy something for the get together and wanted to make something based on the ingredients at hand.   After a quick perusal through my cupboards and cookbooks, I decided on an easy, yet delicious, corn casserole.

The only hiccup was that I had no canned creamed corn as originally called for in the recipe.  No problem.  I figured that creamed corn had to be made out of cream and butter, right?  So that’s what I used.  Here’s my tweaked-out version of Aunt Judy’s recipe:

Scalloped Corn

1 stick of butter, melted (don’t use margarine.  It’s just gross and chemically.  If it’s all you have, I understand, but otherwise use plain ‘ol butter.  It’s just better in every conceivable way.)

1 box of corn muffin mix ( I used Aldi brand, but any brand will do.  Use the smaller size, not the family size.)

2 cans whole kernel corn, drained.

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1/3 cup sugar

Dump in a bowl and mix all ingredients together.  Bake in a well-greased 2 quart baking dish at 350 degrees, or until well-set and slightly browned on top, depending upon taste.

That’s it.  That’s all there is to it.  This casserole couldn’t be more delicious and super, super easy.  If you don’t have heavy whipping cream, omit it and used a can of creamed corn in place of one of the regular corn and cut back a little on the butter.  How much you cut back is up to you.  It’s better with cream, though, so if you have it, use it and never look back.  Plus, this is an extremely economical side-dish, especially if you shop at a store like Aldi.  I highly recommend it!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Yummm… indeed, looks super delicious. Excellent Post.

    Thanks for Sharing.
    http://www.chefdehome.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

