RSS Feed

Momentum

I seriously need a swift kick to my arse to get my momentum back with regard to house reno.  I’ve become far too complacent, and far too busy with money-paying work, to get much done around our house the past few months.  It seems like forever since I’ve completed any house-related project, big or small.  I feel the desire coming back, though, and the two-thirds of the uncompleted basement is really starting to get on my nerves.  As always, a lack of time and money appear to be the culprit but I am going to forge ahead as if I have plenty of both, because if I don’t, the basement will sit uncompleted, unused and unloved.  I envision better things for my basement.  I see the potential and want to utilize our space, as the renovating gods intend.   We have approximately 1300 square feet on our first floor and the same amount of space in our basement.  If I don’t get our basement in a usable condition, we’re basically buying the value meal and throwing the fries away without eating any of them, or something like that…

It is time.  The first order of business is going to be the computer nook for the kids’ iMac.  Right now it looks like this:

There used to be a wall cabinet hanging in there but a month, or so, after we moved in, we heard a loud crash and the cabinet had fallen off the wall, taking the bolts with it.  We decided not to re-hang the cabinet and “temporarily” moved the above-pictured metal shelving unit in there to get it out of the way.  Originally, we were going to move the computer into our basement family room, but there simply isn’t space in there.  We decided that this weird nook area would be a great place for the computer and I’m envisioning something like this:

Or this:

Images found here.

I need to do some work on the nook, such as caulking the holes in the wall where the cabinet hung, painting the walls and floor, getting the computer hooked-up, etc.  In addition, I’m going to have to pull that shelving out of there and move it somewhere else.  I have a storage area in the end of our basement that desperately needs addressed.  My goal is to get the shelving moved back there, sort through all the junk, get organized and purge our house from a lot of useless crap that we’ve managed to collect over the years.  Of course, that’s everyone’s goal, isn’t it?  Sheesh, just typing it makes me tired.

At any rate, that’s where we’re at with all of this.  All talk and no action.  Well my friend, that’s about to change.  What about you?  What projects have you completed recently or are contemplating?

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Progress in the Computer Nook! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: Computer Nook is Finished! « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

