RSS Feed

Progress in the Computer Nook!

I made some progress in the computer nook that I wrote about last week.  If you will recall, it looked like this:

Then it went to this:

Oooh, ahhh – no junk.  Just don’t turn around…

By Sunday, we still hadn’t decided on a paint color, although J kind of wanted something dark red and I, well, didn’t.  I know it’s the man cave and, therefore, by default should be his choice, but I just couldn’t reconcile the orange basement family room with a somewhat adjoining dark red bar area.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love dark red rooms and, in fact, we used to have a dark red TV room.  I just didn’t think it would be so great in this particular application.  He then suggested a color similar to the kitchen cabinets:

I thought that was a fine idea and felt that it would flow nicely from one room to the other, making the entire space feel bigger instead of choppy.

You can see that the man cave/bar area/computer nook is just past those too short curtains that I need to replace or alter in some way.  When the lights are on the man cave, you can see in there through that odd window-thingy above the green chair. If we have a party, or something, we can pull the curtains back and the whole space merges.  Plus, the spicy orange colors really visually warm-up the cold basement space and feel cozy, even when it’s the middle of winter.  A year after painting our basement orange, I’m still loving it and was fully on board with J’s suggestion.

Like I always do, I put out a plea to the paint gods to find something similar on the mis-tint shelf.  I trundled off to Lowe’s, walked over the mis-tint shelf and found this:

I kid you not.  I don’t know how it works, but it does. I put out the plea and I find the color I need.  I’ll stop talking about it now before I jinx myself. Ptooey, ptooey.  Anyway, it was only $2.50!  It’s a quart of Valspar Duramax Exterior Semi-Gloss which retails for $15.97 a quart or $37.98 a gallon.  I may need to buy another quart, though, and if I do that, it will equal the cost of a half gallon.  That’s okay, though, because it will be enough to complete the man cave and I won’t have a bunch left over. I know I probably shouldn’t use exterior paint on the interior but when I read it’s attributes, it really seemed to coincidentally be the best paint for the job.  It has a built-in primer and it’s mildew, mold and algae resistant.  It’s flexible to resist cracking during temperature changes and it’s moisture resistant. It’s also recommended for masonry. Sounds perfect for a damp, cold concrete basement.  It’s low VOC, so it’s not terribly smelly, or anything.  The paint covers nicely, as well, or at least as nicely as one can cover cinder block.  I’m very pleased with it, so far.  Also, in case you’re wondering, and I did ask the paint guy if I can get another quart made since it was on the “mis-tint” shelf.  Turns out that it wasn’t so much of a mis-tint, but rather a case of buyer’s remorse.  So, if I need more, I can just take the handy-dandy color sticker back in and he’ll fix me right up.

I will say that I had somehow forgotten what a pain in the rear it is to paint cinder block, though.  It’s been almost a year since I painted the family room.  It’s like childbirth, I guess.  I’ve been enjoying the room and forgot all about the pain.  I managed to forget so well, in fact, that I tried it again.  I’d forgotten how hard it is to get even coverage and fill in all those uneven lumps and bumps.  What I thought would take me 45 minutes easily took an hour and a half.  That’s why I’m pretty sure I’ll have to buy more paint.  I measured the square footage of the walls and there is a total of 236.25 square feet that needs painting.  A quart of paint will cover 400 square feet.  What I  failed to consider is how much more paint is used painting cinder block than drywall.  How soon we forget.  At any rate, I persevered and now the nook looks like this:

Oooh, ahhh.  Empty orange nook.  But hey, it’s progress.  I haven’t made any progress in a long time, so it feels really good.  By the way, the paint was wet in the picture and  is not nearly so blotchy now that it’s dry.  I may go back in and touch up a few spots, but considering I’m going to be putting a big computer desk in there, I’m not terribly worried about it.

What about you?  Did you make any progress this weekend?

P.S. – I wasn’t compensated by Lowe’s, I just love their paint.  I particularly love paint I find on the mis-tint shelf.  That makes me positively giddy.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

