RSS Feed

Corn and Potato Chowdah

The other day, I went to The Pioneer Woman’s website and was met with a vision of corn chowder loveliness.  I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I don’t usually crave corn chowder.  It’s just not something that I even give a passing thought.  But that day I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  J went out to blow the leaves off the roof, clean-out the gutters and get the giant piles to to the side of the road for pick-up.  I was left in charge of dinner and decided that I must have the corn chowder that had been taunting me all day.  The only problem was that I didn’t have the ingredients on hand to make PW’s corn chowder.  I took stock of my pantry, did a quick Google search for recipes from which to glean some ideas and created something so divine, so wonderful, that mere words cannot describe it.  You’ll just have to make a batch for yourself.

Potato Corn Chowder

2 cups of red potatoes, diced (this was 5-6 smallish sized potatoes)

1 cup sliced carrots

1/4 to 1/2 red onion

1-2 serrano or jalapeno peppers, diced

2 1/2 cups water

1 bouillon cube

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 Tbsp. dried parsley

1 clove garlic

1 can of creamed corn

1 can of regular corn

1 cup of heavy cream

1 cup of milk

1 c of Velveeta, or similar product, diced

Bring bouillon cube and water to a boil and add potatoes, carrots, onion, serranos, salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, parsley and garlic to the pot.  Boil for 15-20 minutes, until veggies are tender.  Mash the veggies a little with your spoon. Add creamed corn, regular corn, cream, milk and Velveeta, and heat through, letting cheese melt completely.  That’s it!

This soup was a big hit although J and N both complained mightily that there was no meat.  That can easily be rectified with the addition of chicken, bacon or sausage.  Anything would work.  That’s the great thing about soup.  You can make it out of nearly anything and it’s really, really hard to mess up.  I don’t normally have creamed corn on hand but I had bought a can to make some corn casserole.  I actually opened it on accident, so I just threw it in the soup and it turned-out great.  It was so good, in fact, that I kept ladling “just one more bite” into my bowl while cleaning-up.  I  ate so many “bites” that I was stuffed by the time the dishes were done.  It certainly satisfied my craving and even the boys had to admit they really liked it, even without meat.  A definite winner in my house and pretty economical, too. We’re still working on our challenge to use our pantry items, so this fit the bill.

What about you?  Have you tried any new soup recipes lately?  Soups and chowders are just so satisfying this time of year.

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. Now corn chowder will be taunting ME – YUM! Guess what I’ll be making now?

    (although “hard to mess up” is subjective – I’ve messed up many pots o’ soup in my day)

    Reply
  2. I tried this over the weekend. It was very good! The only problem is that I had half and half instead of the heavy cream. I definitely would have liked it thicker and I think the cream (or even maybe some potato flakes) would have helped. The flavor was great though and I will try again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

