RSS Feed

Is it time for a margarita?

It has to be 5 o’clock somewhere, right?  Work is crazy and I’m on my second sick kid within a week.  So, of course, it seems like a perfect time to paint the entrance/stairwell to the basement.  This is a project that came to me in a moment of inspiration.  At least we’re going to call it inspiration because it sounds nicer than “it came to me in a moment of insanity”.  We hung some James Bond posters in the hallway, which I love, but it still seems something is lacking.  You know – that something that’s lacking, but you just don’t know what it is?  I would really like to put a runner on the wood floor but I know that’s going to get vetoed.   (J HATES carpet/floor coverings.  HATES IT.  I’m lucky to have the carpet I do and I  know he won’t go for adding a big carpet strip down the center of the hallway.  I’m okay with that because I only want it for aesthetics anyway, so I’m not even going to mention it, so forget I mentioned it.)

A while back, I had a coupon for a free sample pint of Benjamin Moore  paint.  I got a pint of “Margarita”.

I didn’t know what I was going to do with it at the time but I really love the color.  Okay, if I’m going to be completely honest, I also love the name.  I may have bought the paint for the name more than the color itself.  It sat in the closet for 4 months, or so, until I was inspired to paint the basement entrance/stairwell in margarita.  So I did. Now I need to buy another sample because it really needs a second coat.  I haven’t decided what to do about that at this point, however,  I’ll let you know when I do.  It won’t take long because I can’t stand to live with it the way it is now.

Because I was struck with a moment of inspiration, I didn’t bother to take a “before” picture.  I was just living in the moment.  Unfortunately, this is about the best I can do.

See the stairwell back there?  It was white and the light fixture has been removed.  At the moment, it’s just an empty socket.  It has one coat of margarita on it but it’s super blotchy.  It’s also a little, um, shocking, I guess.  It’s very bright.  I don’t think J is impressed, but he ultimately doesn’t care.  He’s cool about paint colors.  Carpet, not so much.  I like it, though.  I’m anxious to get the second, maybe third, coat on.

Because of the low headroom, we are not putting a light fixture back up.  Our taller guests have had some problems maneuvering under the globe that was there.  Instead, I ordered silver-tipped lightbulbs from a place called Light Bulbs Unlimited in Tampa Florida.  They arrived today, in perfect condition I might add, and I love them!!!  They look really cool in the light socket and give it a finished look, while remaining fluid and functional.  It’s the little things, isn’t it?  My day is totally made because I received lightbulbs in the mail.  Ya gots to take your thrills where ya gets um, I always say.

Finally, I’m thinking of adding this guy above the door, facing the hallway:

I found him on Etsy.  I haven’t mentioned the peacock, either.  I love the contrast of the blue with the yellow-green of the margarita.  It’s very appealing to me.  It also picks up the colors of the Bond posters.

I think it ties everything together and provides the missing “oomph”.  It reminds of the old NBC logo that you see on TV shows from the 1960’s and it just feels right.  (Trying to explain one’s inspiration does start to cross that line into insanity, doesn’t it…)

Today, I saw a house tour on Apartment Therapy and came across this picture:

I LOVE houses and I think this looks really cool.  I’m now thinking that I’d  also like to incorporate something like this down the wall of the stairwell.  Wouldn’t a collage of houses looking smashing against the margarita walls?  Okay, just a thought.

Bottom line, my budget for this is around zero, so I’m going to have to put on my thinking cap.  So far, I’m in for $8.67 for the silver-tipped lightbulbs.  The first coat of paint was free and I already had all the painting tools.  My next expense will be for a second coat of paint, the manner of procurement for which is still being considered.

What about you?  What moments of insanity, er, inspiration have you been struck with lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Computer Nook is Finished! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: Fin « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

