RSS Feed

Computer Nook is Finished!

Before:

After:

The kids are very happy to have their computer back up and running.  It’s only taken us a year and a half.  Not bad, right?  Right.   At least it’s one project I can cross off my list.  I like how it turned-out.  It’s not fancy and I’ll probably add to it as time goes on, but overall I’m pleased.  The rest of the area is still a wreck but this one little area is nice and pretty.  Progress is progress, though, and I’m just happy to have some house prettifying mojo back.

The nook project cost me a mere $2.50 for the paint off the mis-tint shelf.  We already owned the owl picture (bought from a garage sale years ago for 75 cents), computer, desk and chairs.

In other news, the margarita stairwell is finished.  I ended-up using five coats of paint.  I did take some pictures, but I’m not happy with them.  Plus, I’m going to IKEA later today to pick-up a few items to add to the walls.  I’ll take some better photos tomorrow and share then.  In the meantime, I’d like to impart some of the wisdom I gained during this horrendously-harder-than-envisioned project.

1.  Painting something on a whim does not always work out, especially if you don’t have enough paint.  Make sure you have enough paint to properly cover whatever surface you’re painting or you’ll be very sad.  Crying into your margarita sad.  You’ll find yourself at Lowe’s on two different evenings, buying yet another quart of paint when you should have just bought the darn gallon in the first place, but didn’t in a misguided attempt to save money.  Also, don’t try to save money by not priming.  This will not save you money, or time, as it took me 8 hours, and nearly 3/4 of a gallon total, to apply five coats of paint to a relatively small space .

2.  If you’re going from a light color to a color-saturated one, be sure to use a tinted primer.  I knew this from the start. I really did.  I even said this out-loud.  I had this exact same trouble when I painted a wall of our master bedroom black.  Did I learn my lesson the first time?  No, I did not.  I just jumped right in and ended-up with a blotchy mess that took FIVE coats of paint to fix.  The moment of truth came when I was waiting in line at Lowe’s at 8:30 on a Tuesday evening to get yet another quart of paint.  I wandered over to the paint chips to casually browse while my paint was being mixed.  I found a color that was very similar to the green I was using.  Right there in big RED letters, the paint chip read “For best results, be sure to a use a tinted primer”, or something to that effect.  Um, yeah.

3.  On a positive note, you can successfully have Benjamin Moore paint colors, or any other color, matched to Olympic Low VOC paint.  I started out with my free sample pint of BM paint and, when I ran out, I went to Lowe’s to have them color match it to the Olympic.  Before I did this, I asked Sherry Petersik from Young House Love if they’d ever had any trouble color matching since they do this frequently.  She very kindly answered and said they had not had any trouble color matching, but they had also stuck with one kind of paint, not mixing brands half-way through.  I took a chance because the BM paint was $25 a quart versus the $9.99 a quart Olympic paint.  The color turned-out exactly the same, so I will not hesitate to color match again.  Also, I actually found I preferred the Olympic paint to the BM.  It’s thicker, covers better and has much less of a “smell”.  Plus, it’s much less expensive, which is helpful when applying copious amounts to cover your sins.

So kids, take it from me, make sure you have enough paint before you start, prime those walls if you’re going dark and don’t hesitate to get those fancy-schmancy colors color-matched at a much better price.

What about you?  What have you painted lately?  What projects have you been able to cross off your list?  Please share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fin « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: The Final Frontier « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

