RSS Feed

Don’t Do Crack

In the infamous words of Whitney Houston, “crack is whack”.  As I mentioned in my kitchen post, I have these “cracks” of white along my cabinet doors from where I painted the white laminate facing a spicy orange.

I FINALLY bought a tiny brush ($1.61 with a 40% off coupon from Michaels) and am in the process of painting the cracks orange to give the cabinets a more seamless appearance.

Do you see the difference?  It’s subtle to be sure, but in person it looks waaaayyy better.  Even J had to admit that it looks more “finished”.  He’s always supportive of my weird type-A projects but sometimes doesn’t think they’re completely necessary.  This one, however, he whole-heartedly understands.

I’m still working on it as it’s slow-going.  I have to move carefully so I don’t get paint on the wood.  I work in one-hour increments, so as not to hurry and get sloppy in the process.  It doesn’t really matter how long it takes since there is no deadline attached.  I’m about half-way through, so progress is definitely being made.  The reason I started this project now is because my dear, sweet, wonderful mother-in-law asked me what I wanted for Christmas.  I put a lot of thought into it and asked for all the hinges to be replaced on my cabinets since a bunch of them were sprung and the doors were literally falling off the frames.  We found replacement hinges online and our local handy-guy, Doug, came and replaced them all for me.  Once that was completed, I decided it was time to touch-up the paint and eradicate the whacky white cracks.  My next step will be sprucing-up the wood handles and trim.  The jury’s still out on whether I’m going to polyurethane the cabinet fronts, or not.  It sounds like a good idea but I need to practice on something first.  At any rate, just painting-out the white cracks and having cabinet doors that open/close appropriately is really rocking my world.  (Yeah, I don’t get out much…)

So tell me – do any of you have painted cabinets?  Have you used a polyurethane on them or left them as is?  How are they holding-up?

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: January Cure 2013 Recap « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: It Only Took Two and a Half Years | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

