RSS Feed

The Seven Year Itch

Every seven years, or so, I get the itch to be crafty and create something.  Maybe a little more often than that, but not much.  I know myself.  I love the idea of creating things more than the actual creating of things, if you know what I mean.  When I actually start the creation process, it quickly devolves into mutterings and words unspeakable, with a bout of foot stomping and the shedding of tears thrown-in for good measure.  It’s never pretty.  So when I saw this on Rebecca’s blog a couple of weeks ago, I got the itch real bad and had some very mixed feelings.

He’s so stinkin’ cute!  She was having a contest for her birthday  and giving one away, but I didn’t win.  I was a little bummed.  And I still wanted one.  So I had to make one and I knew what that meant.  I was a little scared.

Rebecca found the inspiration for hers on Pinterest.

Jill from Homemade by Jill made him and included a template and directions on her blog.  She created the template because she originally saw these guys on Martha Stewart, fell in love with them and had to make some of her own.

I had to make one of my own, mainly because of the itch.  So I did.

He’s hanging-out on my bed for now.  I used some leftover fabric I had from K’s Zombie Raggedy-Ann costume from a couple of years ago and had just enough stuffing left over from another project, so this guy was free this time around.   I used buttons for the eyes and some flannel-type fabric for the bill/feet.  He’s cute and scratched the itch.  Plus, I honestly didn’t cuss once when I made him.  Well, except for when my thread broke for the third time in a row, but that wasn’t Mr. Penguin’s fault.  Thanks to Jill’s easy to follow template and instructions, he wasn’t difficult to make.  I may have even slept with him the first night I had him, but that was probably just a rumor.

Okay, your turn.  Are you ready to make a Mr. Penguin of your very own?

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Halloween Banner « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

