RSS Feed

What I got for Christmas (and it wasn’t my front teeth)

Late one night  J and I were relaxing in bed reading and I happened to be flipping through a CB2 catalog I had received in the mail.  Suddenly, he said “stop” and grabbed the catalog from my hand.  He then proceeded to shock me by proclaiming his extreme interest in the bedding on the page.  Not once in the entire time I’ve known the man has he expressed extreme interest in bedding.  Mild interest perhaps,mostly after I’ve already purchased it and put it on the bed, but he’s happy sleeping under this old Army rain poncho liner he’s had for years, so extreme interest really piqued mine.  Upon closer examination, I discovered that I really liked it, too.

It’s from the Fresh Ink line at CB2 and was designed by an artist named Yann Legendre.  It’s cool, fits in the color-scheme of our master bedroom and definitely speaks to J’s graphic designer brain.  Plus, you know me and bedding.  I have a bit of an obsession with it…  So, we bought this for each other as our main Christmas present.  When we first saw it, the duvet cover was $79.95 and the shams were $19.95.  Way too pricey.  I bided my time because I knew it would go on sale and I got it before Christmas when the duvet cover was marked down to $49.95 and the shams were $6.95, plus free shipping.  The duvet cover is now marked down to $39.95, but not available online (I guess you can still get it if you’re lucky enough to live around one of the few CB2 stores in the country).  The shams aren’t available at all.  It’s still a little spendy for me, but it was our split Christmas gift and a bit of a splurge.

When it came, we didn’t open it, other than to make sure the right number of items were in the package.  Picture us blindly opening the package and feeling around in there, but not looking.  Luckily, they sent us the right items and when we opened it on Christmas day, we were  I was super excited to make our bed.

We both really like it and it’s a great addition to my collection.  This guy is a little disconcerting though:

What about you?  What cool things did Santa bring you?  Did you get any good Christmas bargains?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: And then it got muggy « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: Impulse Purchase « sugarshellandbutterknife

  3. Pingback: Marimekko (I was coerced) « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

