RSS Feed

In a Perfect World

In a perfect world, we would be able to spend each day in accordance with it’s own unique biorhythms and mental state.  I have so much to do today.  So much.  I am really struggling today because today I feel contemplative, meditative, quiet and peaceful.  However, I am doing work that is busy, chaotic and mind-numbing.  My inner being is fighting my right brain and a whole war is breaking-out in my head.  Some days I’m really switched “on” and can work like a demon force of nature and won’t stop for hours upon end.  If we lived in a perfect world, we could spend our days in accordance with our inner beings, so that each day was lived to its fullest potential and thus create more productivity on every front.  We could, in fact, become rather Utopian.  The problem is that we’d have to give up our preconceived notions regarding success and what constitutes it.  As a whole, we the people could never obtain that level of freedom and acceptance.  If someone is feeling leisurely, it’s perceived as laziness and immediately discounted by both the person feeling leisurely and those around him.  It’s unfortunate, because I think we all need to take time to just be and we’re simply not allowed that luxury in our switched on 24 hour a day, 7 day a week society.  That makes me very sad.

At any rate, now maybe I can work better because I got that out of my brain and into yours.
About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Can you put this idea on a ballot somewhere?? I’d vote for it 🙂

    I’m either on or off. A million things done, or nothing at all. And it usually seems to be that the days that I have the most to do are the days I want to do nothing…….isn’t that always the way?

    Reply
    • Yes, it is always the way! I could really use a break, just a good solid 2 days off, with absolutely no responsibilities or requirements from any outside source, so I could re-set my inner clock because I am just not in rhythm with reality right now. So how do we go about getting it on the ballot?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

