RSS Feed

My Baby is 10

N’s birthday was on Sunday.

My baby turned 10.  10!  Sniff… Both of my kids are in the double-digits now, which makes me feel really, really old.

N requested a yellow cake with chocolate frosting this year to mark the big occasion.  It was at the end of a really long week and I opted to pull-out my trusty copy of “The Cake Mix Doctor“, rather than bake a cake from scratch.  There is a good recipe in there for a basic yellow cake that always seems to be a crowd pleaser.  Here is my slightly adapted version.

Basic Yellow Pound Cake

1 package yellow cake mix (pudding in the mix)

1 cup of whole milk

1 cup of vegetable oil

4 large eggs

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract (because I like to live on the edge)

Place rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F.  Grease and flour your pan(s) (10″ tube pan, 12 cup bundt pan, 2 – 9″ round pans, 9X13 pan, 24 cupcakes), set aside.  Place all the ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir on low for one minute.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and turn the speed up to medium.  Mix for two minutes, or so.  Pour batter into pan(s) and bake until golden brown and cake springs back when lightly touched.  The times will vary depending upon the pan you use.  The bundt/tube pans will take around 50-55 minutes.  The round pans/9X13 will take approximately 25 minutes and the cupcakes will take approximately 20 minutes.  Just start checking early and keep your eye on them until they’re finished.  Once the cakes are done, let them cool for 10 minutes, or so, in the pan and then turn them out onto cooling racks.  You can frost your cake once it cools completely.

I used the same chocolate buttercream that was on J’s cake.

N was happy with his yellow cake and everyone else seemed pleased with it, too.  If you have more time and want to bake one from scratch, Smitten Kitchen has a good recipe.  It’s quite tasty and not difficult at all.  I just happened to have a box mix on hand and it definitely helped to speed things along.

What about you?  Have you celebrated any birthdays lately and, if so, what kind of cake did you have or make?

 

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

