RSS Feed

The slow start of the laundry room makeover

I haven’t had time to work on any house-related projects since I finished the margarita stairwell because work has been absolutely crazy since then. On Monday, I finally had a chance to start on the laundry room.  I call it the “laundry room”, but it’s really more of a laundry stall. It sort of reminds me of a booth at an indoor flea market.  I’m just thrilled to have a designated laundry area, so I don’t care it’s a stall or a room.  I’ve never lived anywhere before that had a designated laundry spot and it’s one of the things I really like about my house.

Up until recently, it looked like this:

Now it looks like this:

Ooh, ahh.  Okay, so it’s not much of an improvement, but it’s a start.  Already it feels so much nicer to do laundry in a clean and orderly area.   I have plans for this little space, though.  First of all, I’m going to paint the chalky white concrete a nice light beige in a glossier finish.  I found some on the mistint shelf for $2.50 and I think it will look a lot better than it does right now.

I’m also going to add some panels to cover the pipes and hoses behind the washer and dryer.  There is also this ugly area where the ceiling meets the wall that I’m going to cover with a small valance.

Here’s a mock-up I made to give you an idea of what I’m talking about.

I found some fabric that I really liked at Jo-Ann.  I bought it on Black Friday for $3.19 a yard, no shipping, for a total of $13.65 including tax for 4 yards.

I’m going to hang the panels on a suspension shower curtain rod that I’m going to suspend between the cabinet and wall.  I’m going to attach the valance with a staple gun and then cover the staples with some sort of trim that I still need to purchase.  I’ve asked for the staple gun and shower curtain rod for my birthday.  If I get them, there won’t be any additional cost for those items.

After I get that finished, I’ll decide what I’m going to do about the floor.  I may actually buy a slightly larger rug, or something, and cover most of the concrete.  It floods up to a few inches back there from time-t0-time and I want something that I can easily pull-up in a hurry.  It doesn’t make sense to tile or paint the floor since it will just get ruined at some point.  We need some extensive drainage done to the outside of our house and, until that happens, we’re going to continue to have the problem.  Unfortunately, it’s going to cost us a lot of money, so we’re just making do in the meantime.  I’m not letting that stop me from using the space down there, we’re just working around the problem for now.

I’d also like to do a little decorating down there to make it pretty.  It would be nice to have a fun place to go to do my most dreaded chore.  It also has this nice  built-in shelving area and some cabinets underneath.

(This is a “before” picture because I forgot to take an “after”, but it’s much cleaner and neater now.)  I have a little folding table that I can open and use for my sewing machines.  It will also be nice to have a designated place to use my sewing machines instead of dragging them upstairs to use at the table.  I can’t wait until I find another chunk of time to work on my laundry room makeover some more.  Next up is painting.  By the time I get that done, I’m hoping my birthday will have rolled around and the birthday fairy will have visited me. That way I’ll be able to hang the panels and valance.  I need to sew those and I’ll be able to use my newly cleaned-out space to set-up my sewing machine.

There is still much work to be done in the basement but I’m working on it a step at a time.  What about you?  What projects are you working on?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. The Birthday Fairy? Wow! I’ve been called a lot of things in my life, but this is one of the nicest. Smiles.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: I’m glad it’s finally over! « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

