RSS Feed

I can’t wait!!

Right now we have this light hanging over our table.

It’s not centered and it really doesn’t match the style of our house.  I have no idea why it was hung where it was.  It’s not centered with anything.  I received some gift cards for Lowe’s for Christmas and I decided that I’d like to get some new lights for over the table because it’s bugged me for a long time that the light is not centered.  I sifted through thousands of choices and J pointed to one and said “that’s the one”.  At first I wasn’t completely sold on it because it seemed like a pretty bold choice, but the more I looked at other lights, the more I kept coming back to it.  He was right and I decided that it was perfect.  Sadly, though, I waited too long and when I decided to order them, they were discontinued on the Lowe’s website.  They still offered them in white, but I didn’t want white.  Plus, they had been around $76.00 before and the white ones had gone up to $102.19 when I went back to order them, which was well-above the $150.00 budget we had set.

I searched and searched, but couldn’t find them anywhere.  They are, in fact, discontinued by the manufacturer.  I finally searched on ebay for “red pendant lights” and found a place that had four. (There are still two available.)  I bought two for $157.00 total.  I couldn’t use the Lowe’s gift card, though, so I used some of the funds we had in house repair fund we started in January and put the Lowe’s cards in the house fund.  I know it’s not really a “repair”, but I didn’t go into debt to buy them, so it works for me.  Plus, J and I are in perfect agreement on them and when I saw them, I had to jump on the chance to buy them since I didn’t know if I would ever have the chance again.

We’re going to hang them, something like this.

So are you ready to see them?  We decided on these.

I can’t wait until we get them hung.  I think they’re going to look awesome.  We were both giddy when they arrived.  I’ll definitely post pictures when they’re finally up.

So what have you been up to lately?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Finally! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: I am in L-O-V-E « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

