RSS Feed

Trash Picking

I fully admit that I’ve trash-picked before.  I’ve scored some surprisingly nice and useful things picking through someone else’s trash.  I’ve never trash-picked upholstered furniture before because everything I’ve ever seen has been, at best, questionable and sometimes downright scary.  Yesterday, J called me on his way to work and said he’d seen what appeared to be a very nice recliner about six houses down from ours and asked me to go check-it-out.  I took a stroll down there honestly not expecting much.  I was, however, pleasantly surprised.  The chair seemed to be in decent shape, the recliner part still worked, the pleather wasn’t really cracked and, other than some normal wear and tear, was really quite nice.  I then thought of bed bugs, or something of that nature, so I ran back home, looked-up “signs of bed bug” in Google, ran back, examined the chair further and decided that it didn’t appear to have bed bugs.  The question then became how to get the chair back down the street to my house, which is a lot farther than it sounds when it entails dragging a 100 lb. recliner home.  We have a hand truck in our garage that’s really meant for items half the size of the recliner, so of course I ran back home, again, to grab it.  I managed to get the chair on the hand truck and walked it backwards down the street because pulling it was easier than pushing it.  I really hope no one was watching the crazy lady running up and down the street and dragging this giant recliner home on a little hand truck.  I finally got the thing home and gave it a good vacuuming.  After that, I used some GooGone to get the marks and sticky stuff off of the upholstery and finally gave it a good once over with some diluted dish soap.  It turned-out quite nice, I think.   It’s comfortable and all the mechanisms seem to work.  It’s not perfect and has a few cosmetic blemishes, but it’s really nice for free. Plus, J’s really been wanting a recliner for the man cave/bar area that we’re going to work on next.  I got it all ready for him in the driveway for when he came home from work.  I wanted to surprise him with his “new” chair.  I think he’s pleased.

What about you?  What good stuff have you found in other people’s trash?  Share!  I’d love to hear about your finds!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Nice trays, vases and chair. What bargains!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

