RSS Feed

Modern Show

My friend JZ and I took a road trip to the Cincinnati Modern Show this past weekend.   If I were wealthy, I would have come out of there with a plethora of modern art, modern furniture, modern jewelry, modern dinnerware, you name it, I would have had it in vintage modern.  Sadly, most of the items weren’t in my budget, so I could only admire.  That’s okay, though, because I honestly don’t need more stuff.  I need to get rid of stuff before I buy stuff.  However, I couldn’t resist buying these neat-o lap trays for $10.00.

Still in the original box and only $10.00 for a set of four.  I couldn’t pass them up.  I love the vibrant colors of the trays.

N was very excited when I brought them home and wanted to use them to eat dinner but I told him that they’re antiques and  we can’t use them.  He asked me why I bought them if I wasn’t going to use them, which I guess is a good question.  I may use them for decorative purposes or I may use them for snacks.  We’ll see.  Either way, I think they’re cool and I’m glad I found them.  I especially like the description on the back of the box.

“Made by master craftsmen, HASKO trays are STRONG and DURABLE, yet so light in weight that discriminating women everywhere prefer them over all other trays”.  That’s a might bold statement HASKO!  Discriminating women EVERYWHERE prefer them over all other trays?  Mighty bold.  Heaven knows I’m a discriminating woman, so it does make sense.

When I was at the modern show, I also saw some absolutely gorgeous orange glassware but the prices were really high and I just couldn’t part with that much money for something that might break in my very active household.  J took me to a local antique mall the next day and I scored these pretty orange vases for $5.00 and $6.00 each.

Definitely more within my budget and still satisfied my desire for some pretty orange glassware.  I do love going to the modern show, though, even if I don’t buy anything.  Just seeing all that modern deliciousness under one roof is worth going for.  It won’t be back until next year, but if you get the chance to go, please do.  Think of it as a cultural experience.

Have you scored any modern or vintage finds lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

