RSS Feed

Big Bad Chocolate Muffins

My kids love these muffins, I think for the name more than anything else, although they are quite tasty and easy to whip-up. Once again, this is an Anne Byrn recipe, this time from “Cupcakes from the Cake Mix Doctor“.  After I make a batch, I wrap them in plastic wrap, bag the plastic wrapped muffins in zip-top sandwich bags and then store those in a larger freezer bag in the freezer.  (I save all the bags to reuse, so I’m not wasting those, either.) I’ll put the plastic-wrapped muffiin in the kids’ lunches occasionally and by lunch-time, they’re thawed and ready to eat.  I’ve found that they stay good this way for up to a couple of months.  The kids enjoy the treat and it’s easy and economical for me to make a big batch of these at once.  Plus, I have to admit that I enjoy them with my morning coffee every now and then.

Big Bad Chocolate Muffins (adapted slightly from the Cake Mix Doctor)

1 pkg. (18.25 ounces) plain devil’s food cake mix (when Anne state “plain”, she means without pudding in the mix, i.e. Duncan Hines or Kroger store-brand, etc.)

1 pkg. (3.9 ounces) instant chocolate pudding mix

3/4 Cup (6 ounces) of sour cream

3/4  Cup water

1/2 Cup vegetable oil

2 tsp. real vanilla extract

3 large eggs

1 Cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.   Line 18-24 muffin cups, set aside.  Place cake mix and pudding mix in large bowl and make a well in the center.  Place sour cream, water, oil, vanilla and eggs in a small bowl and mix together.  Pour the wet mixture into the well of the cake/pudding mix and stir to combine, about thirty strokes.  (You don’t want to over-mix.)  Pour in the chocolate chips and fold into mixture, about ten more strokes.  The batter will not be smooth, but that’s okay – these are muffins, not cake.  Scoop batter (I use an ice cream scoop) into muffin cups, about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until tops of muffins spring back when lightly pressed.  Don’t over-bake or you will end-up with tough muffins.  Cool on a rack and enjoy!

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

