RSS Feed

Progress in the laundry room

I’ve been making some more progress in the laundry room.  If you will recall, it originally looked like this:

Total blech.  I moved things out, straightened things up and then it looked like this:

I’ve since primed and painted the walls and now the area looks like this:

I realize there are some unpainted areas behind the washer, but hopefully the panels I’m going to make will cover that up.

If not, I’ll have to do some touching-up.  I have no idea what color the paint is.  I bought it off the mis-tint shelf for $2.50.  It appears, at least to me, to be the color of the nougat inside of a Three Musketeers Bar, which is fine.  It’s not my favorite color in the world, but it was priced right, it’s for a basement laundry room and at least the walls look clean.

I still have to figure-out what I’m going to do about the floor.  It’s concrete and kind of gross, but as I mentioned before, we occasionally have standing water back there after particularly heavy rains.  I don’t want to paint it and I think it’s too messed-up to stain.  I don’t want to invest too much money in it but I want it to look nice, too.  I have no idea why, but I’m more excited about the laundry room project than anything else I’ve done to the house.  I know I’ve said it before, but I’ve never had a nice place to do laundry.  Adequate, yes.  Nice, no.  This is my opportunity.  This is the only place I’ve lived that is really conducive to having an actual laundry room.  It’s only closed-in on three sides, so it’s really more of a stall.  However, I have an idea percolating in my head on how to enclose the fourth “wall” and give the space the feeling of a “room” without building anything.  I can’t wait to move-on to the next phase of this project.  Once I get the laundry room finished, we’ll start organizing the storage area so we can finally complete the man cave/bar area, which will mean that all the areas in our home will finally be fully functional and useable.

What about you?  What projects are you currently working on?

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Pingback: I’m glad it’s finally over! « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

