RSS Feed

What I ate this weekend

Since we were completely kid-free this weekend, which hasn’t happened in a long, long time, we splurged and made some of the finest meals this side of the Mississippi.

Friday night, we started with a surf and turf meal.  I found two lobster tails at Aldi for $12.99, which is definitely outside our normal food budget.  However, at $6.50 a pop, still cheaper than most restaurants.  We also had a gorgeous steak that J picked-up from the butcher on his way home Thursday and marinated overnight.  To finish the meal we had some sauteed brussels sprouts and a delicious Malbec wine from Argentina, also a splurge from Aldi at $7.99 for the bottle.

The total for this meal was roughly $38.00, which is a lot for a home-cooked meal for two, but would be double at a nice restaurant, especially when a whole bottle of wine is involved.  In this case, I feel like I’m getting a good value for my money.

Saturday night, J grilled some of his famous burgers and we topped them with some turkey bacon, lettuce and a combination of sharp cheddar and pepper-jack havarti cheeses.

They were super delicious and very large.  That’s pretty much all we ate that day.

Finally, on Sunday, J grilled some tilapia and sugar snap peas while I made a 3 cheese risotto.

I’m not entirely sure how much the burgers and tilapia cost, but in doing rough estimates, I figure both entire meals didn’t cost more than $15.00 total.  That means we spent roughly $55.00 this weekend on three splurgy meals, which is a lot for us.  However, I have no regrets because we ate very well, enjoyed ourselves immensely, didn’t spend any money otherwise and spent much less than if we’d gone to restaurants for these same meals.  For foodies like us, cooking is entertainment, so we get a lot of bang for our buck.

What about you?  What yummy things did you have this weekend?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

