RSS Feed

Amaryllis

N picked this Amaryllis out for J’s Christmas present three or four years ago.  We’ve been enjoying it ever since.  Usually you see them around Christmas time, as they are generally associated with the season.  However, I forgot about our little beauty this year and didn’t bring it upstairs until the end of February.  Once it’s done blooming, I usually cut the stalk off and set the plant outside for the summer.  When summer’s over, I trim off all the leaves and take it to the darkest corner of the basement, where it hibernates until I go retrieve it.  I then set it in the window and begin to give it a little water every day.  Pretty soon, after a couple of weeks, little green shoots appear at the tope of the bulb and  the plant begins to grow in vast measurable amounts.  N and I like to measure the plant every morning, at least for the first couple of weeks because you can measure up to an inch and a half of growth each day, sometimes more. I swear you can  see it growing.  It’s a truly remarkable and fun living science experiment.  To give you some idea of what takes place, I found this time-lapse video on youtube.

Also, if you’d like to read more about these neat-o plants, this website has some great how-to’s.  We’ve really enjoyed ours for the last few years.  They’re easy to take care of, require very little upkeep and are a great way to bring spring early to the long winter months.  Plus, they’re very budget friendly because once  you buy one, it will last for years.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

