RSS Feed

I’m glad it’s finally over!

I didn’t think the laundry room was ever going to get “done” and by “done”, I mean it’s good enough.  There are some little finishing touches that I’d still like to work on, but I need to move on with my life at this point.   It’s been real, and everything, but I need to get out and start seeing some other rooms.  If you will recall, in my first laundry-room related post, I started out with this:

I had the idea to make some panels to hide the ugly pipes and concrete globs.

A month later, I had made some “progress“:

A full two months later and we have this:

It’s not radically different or anything.  I didn’t gut it and replace all the cabinets or anything like that.  With some heavy-duty cleaning (you know I Liquid-Golded the heck out of that knotty pine), organizing and minor alternations, it’s now a cheerful and pleasant space where I can do the laundry and sew/craft.  I hung some curtains up on a rod that I secured to our ductwork using magnets to create a fourth “wall”, thus giving the laundry stall more of a laundry room feel.  I didn’t spend very much on this room, either.  A grand total of $34.11:

Fabric  – $13.65

Paint – $2.50 off the “oops” shelf

Frames – $10.97

Curtains – $6.99 (IKEA Vivan in Lilac – the shorter length)

Everything else I already had, including the giant curtain rod for the lilac curtains.  I used artwork that my daughter made for the walls and some images I printed on my printer for the backsplash frames behind the sink.  This has definitely been the cheapest “makeover” yet, but perhaps the most satisfying because it feels so great to be able to do laundry in a nice space.

What about you?  What projects are you glad to have finished lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. Sometimes that “small” makeovers make the most difference. It looks so much happier in there – great job!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. WOW! That is an impressive makeover! Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Place to Sew « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

