RSS Feed

Herb “Garden”

I had big dreams of making a super awesome herb garden, like this one I saw on Apartment Therapy  (I realize those aren’t herbs in the picture, they’re succulents, but I wanted to use the idea for herbs):

Alas, my arch enemies, Time and Money, thwarted my plans and so I went to the dollar store and created my own herb “garden” for $9.00 (plus the cost of the seeds, which I bought at Lowes a month ago):

My sweet basil is already sprouting and the chives aren’t far behind.  Hopefully they’ll all sprout and I’ll have some nice herbs to dry for the winter.  I’ll keep you posted on how they do over the summer.

When I was planting the herb garden, the sweet basil made me think of  The Velvet Underground’s “Sweet Jane” and I had that song in my head for a week.  So, without further ado, for your listening pleasure, “Sweet Jane”.

*Note – apparently you can’t listen to this from my blog, so click through to youtube to hear one of the best bands ever.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. That’s a clever idea with the cinder blocks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

