RSS Feed

Herban Development

As promised, I’m back with an herb update.  When I introduced you to my herb “garden”, it looked like this:

You could just see the basil peeking through.  After  only one week, things definitely had started growing.

Week two:

This is week three and I took this picture last night.

The dill and cilantro are really taking off.  N asked me the other day if these “are to eat”.  I said yes and, when they’re a little bigger, we’ll snip some to put in our food.  He asked if he could try some of the cilantro.  After thoughtfully chewing for a moment, he said “it tastes like Mexico food”.  Color me impressed with my 10 year-old gourmand.

I FINALLY got the garden planted last night.  I am way, way, way behind this year and have no idea how things are going to turn-out, especially since it’s all starting from seed.  At the moment, it looks like this:

You can’t tell from the picture, but there are sugar snap peas, multi-colored carrots, broccoli and green beans.  It doesn’t look too promising at the moment but I’ll keep you updated on the garden, as well.  I really wanted some of the super cute plant markers that I’ve seen on Etsy, such as these

or these (I really, really LOVE these).

But, as always, we do everything on a budget around here and there is no discretionary income for plant markers (she said with merely a trace of bitterness in her voice), so I made some using the seed packets, chinese take-out chopsticks and clear packing tape.  That’s how I roll (especially after just paying a $906.51 car repair bill).

It’s definitely not as cute as the little ceramic markers above, but it’s free and serviceable.  If you need a free and serviceable plant marker, wrap the empty envelope in clear packing tape, covering completely, to protect it from the elements.  Tape a disposable chopstick to the back and you have an instant plant marker.

Finally, my lettuce and maters are growing, growing, growing!

I can’t tell you what joy I get from growing these herbs and vegetables.  It’s so complex and magical, yet simple and beautiful.  Hope springs eternal, I guess, or something of that nature.  At any rate, I really dig it.  (Get it – dig it?  ha ha.  Yeah, I’m a dork.)

What about you?  What do you have going in your garden this year?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

