RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Mini-Loaves

Confession – I originally wanted to show you some super cute chocolate chip muffins dressed-up in these sweet papers that my mother-in-law brought me the other day because she loves me.

However, there was a small mishap involving wrongly set timers and work distractions that I don’t care to discuss and all my thoughts of cutely dressed muffins went out the window.  However, these guys turned-out just fine.

Chocolate chip mini-loaves.  My son was hosting a sleepover and I wanted to make something I happen to know is kid-friendly.  I haven’t met a kid yet that doesn’t love these.  I’ll admit they’re not my favorite, as my son likes to say.  But, they’re easy and tasty.  My daughter said to me “Mama, these taste just like the mini muffins from Hostess”.  It’s true, they do, only a little better.  If you want to make a treat for your children that tastes like it came from a factory, this is the recipe for you.  Your kids will think you’re awesome.  Sadly, I’m not kidding.  Children find that to be some sort of benchmark of “good”.

Chocolate Chip Mini-Loaves

(this makes 18-24 standard size muffins or 9 mini loaves)

1 package of white cake mix (18.25 ounces) – this should NOT have pudding in the mix

1 package of instant vanilla pudding (3.9 ounces)

3/4 cup sour cream

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Place the cake mix and pudding mix in a large mixing bowl, stir together for a second, or two, and make a well in the center.  Place the sour cream, water, oil, eggs and vanilla in the well.  Break egg yolks with your spoon and mix all ingredients together, to just combined, approximately 30 strokes, or so.  Pour in chocolate chips and mix together, another 10 strokes.  Spoon batter into muffin pan/mini loaf pan, until cups are approximately 3/4 of the way full.  Bake the muffins/loaves for approximately 20 minutes.  I set my timer for 10 minutes and start checking in 5 minute increments thereafter.  My oven bakes hot, though, so I really watch. Also, mini-loaves will take a few minutes longer than the muffins because they’re bigger. When the muffins/loaves spring back after being lightly touched, they’re done.  You can also do the old toothpick trick – when it comes out clean, they’re done.  Just don’t set your timer for another 20 minutes on accident and then go back to work.  When you smell them burning, you know they’re overdone…  but I digress.

At any rate, if you’re throwing a kid-centric soiree, these will be a hit.  Plus, they’re easy and require no frosting, which is a bonus in my book these days.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Loved your recipe, its very detailed! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

