RSS Feed

A Place to Sew

One of my goals when fixing-up the laundry room was to create a place where I could easily set-up my sewing machines whenever I need/want to use them.  Up until now, I’ve been dragging them upstairs to the dining room table and the one I use the most, the vintage White that used to be my mom’s machine, is very, very, very heavy.    The other day I was ready to hem the tablecloth I made for our new patio table and it was a breeze to get everything set-up.

 

I’m guessing this machine is from the sixties, at least from the cursory search I’ve done on them.  All I know is that it’s a  solid piece of metal and a true workhorse.  Dragging it across the basement, up the stairs and down the hall to the table is not my idea of fun.

Now that everything is in one place, and far more accessible, I might be inclined to do some more sewing.  Or not.  I did get the tablecloth hemmed and it is much better for it.  Just look at that quality craftsmanship!

This is just another on the long list of reasons of why I love my house.  I finally have a real place to sew and that makes me very happy, even if most of my sewing is done theoretically.

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Envious! It looks like the perfect place to turn on some music, have a cup of coffee (or tea) and HIDE from everything. I remember that old White sewing machine, although vaguely. It looks heavy! I love all of your recent posts. As always, you get my own creative wheels turning….

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m glad you’re getting something out of my ramblings 😉 I love using that old sewing machine, not only because it was my mom’s, but also because it works much better than my newer plastic crappy Brother machine. So far, though, the only thing I’ve done down there is hem the tablecloth. Maybe this fall when it starts cooling off and I don’t feel so compelled to be outside.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

