RSS Feed

One Huge Overindulgence

Last week we were able to get away for a few days.  It was rather unfortunate timing, especially since we were coming off a big car repair bill, but I’d already made non-refundable (although transferrable) reservations.  We decided to go anyway because we really just needed a break.  So, for four days and three nights we were here.

We ate a lot of this.

We watched these muskrats play in the evening.

And woke-up every morning to this view.

For the last two days of our trip, we moved-on to Cleveland for a family wedding, but still had time to go here.

At the end of the trip, when my shorts were too tight, money too low and time had went way too fast, I moaned to J “this vacation has been nothing more than one huge overindulgence”.  He started laughing and asked if he could quote me on that.  Normally, we try to do everything on a budget and be very conscious of what we’re spending and how we’re doing it, as we did with last year’s mini-vacation.  This year, we spent too much money, ate too much food, drank too much spirits, partied our butts off and had the best time ever.  (Even so, our vacation was still very cheap comparatively speaking.  The cottage had a kitchen and we cooked almost all of our own meals.) Of course, we’re definitely back to our usual budget since we’re even more broke than before we left, but I don’t regret one minute of it.  Life is just too short to work all the time.

What about you?  Are you planning any vacations, even of the “mini” variety?  I highly recommend it!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. We just got back from 10 days in California, and even though it was completely unlike we normally live, we had BUDGETED and set that money aside, which made it…..”planned carelessness?” The hard part is adjusting back to “real” life 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, that’s great! I hope you had fun. Yeah, I know about adjusting back to “real” life. This is my second week back and I’m still adjusting. There’s a song that has a line about “a little time off is a dangerous thing”, ha ha. I do believe that can be true 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

