RSS Feed

The $100 Blanket

Ever since it got hot, and I mean really hot, we’ve been needing a lightweight blanket to use as a bedspread.  I looked at some from Target but didn’t see what I really wanted.  I knew that I was eligible soon for another Macy’s gift card through the e-rewards program I participate in (more about that here, here and here), so I just bided my time.  When my gift card finally came in the mail, I looked at the Macy’s website and found exactly what I wanted.

 

I decided to check my local Macy’s first, though, because I didn’t want to pay the $9.99 shipping if I didn’t have to.  Sure enough, they had exactly what I wanted and it was on sale!  Good thing, because it’s original price was frightening.

 

It was marked down to $49.99 and I had an additional coupon for another 15% off, brining it down to $42.29.  With tax it came to $45.46.  I had an earlier gift card with $1.47 left on it and, of course, one for $25.00.  After those were applied, the blanket only cost me $18.99.   That’s an 81% savings off the regular price.  Not bad, if I do say so myself.

So far, I really like it.  It’s just the right weight and the weave is nice and tight, so I don’t foresee a lot of the  stretching that can happen with these blankets.  Plus, it’s Ralph Lauren, so it’s kind of a small thrill for me to know it’s “designer” and I got it for a great price.  Yeah, I don’t get out much.

 

I haven’t washed it yet so that will be the real test.  In the meantime, I’m certainly enjoying it, as is J, who gets very hot when he sleeps.  Plus, it’s a lovely addition to my bedding collection which keeps growing and growing and growing because I’m addicted.

Also, apropos of nothing, my friend Jen sent these flowers to me via J the other day. Aren’t they pretty?

She’s always sending me sweet little bouquets, which I LOVE.  Thanks Jen!  You’re a super special pal.

So, back to the topic at hand.  What about you?  What bargains have you scored lately?  Share!

 

 

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Impulse Purchase « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

