RSS Feed

Where Did Summer Go?

Aaaackk!  Where did summer go, anyway?  K and N start school this coming Wednesday, which I’m stressing over far more than the kids.  It’s been a good summer but it’s flown by really fast.  Since I last posted, K turned 14 years old (double aaaackk!), we hosted a “Last Summer on Earth 2012” party, went boating with friends, spent the day at the beach and have had a generally all-around good time.  That means we’ve done very little work on the house, although we did find a gallon of orange paint off the mis-tint shelf for $5.00 that will complete the man cave/rumpus room.  One of J’s aunts in visiting in October, so we’re using that as our deadline to paint/straighten the area.  We tend to work better under pressure, even if it’s self-imposed.

I did manage to complete a pennant banner for the patio.  I’ve been wanting to make one for a long time and found a tutorial  that’s very informative.  I used some existing materials I had, including some more of the tropical fabric I used to make the patio tablecloth and swing pillows, a few other coordinating solids and a package of  green bias tape that’s as old as I am.  It was down in my mother’s sewing box and price marked $.34.  (Inflation anyone? I’m not THAT old, for pete’s sake.)

I didn’t follow the directions exactly and ended-up with a shorter, squat-ier version, which still looked fine.

It was a completely free project, so I’m more than happy with it.  You may also notice the odd candelabra in the center of the table.  One evening, J and I were out on the patio enjoying the summer insect symphony.  He remarked that what we really, really needed was an elaborate candelabra for our table, gold in color, with little animals attached.  I wholeheartedly agreed and, when I was in Home Goods the other day, I found this beauty on clearance for $10.00 and couldn’t resist.

Have you ever seen anything more magnificent?  It’s just perfect for our patio and so very, very classy.  I was going to give it to J for his birthday, but like a little kid, I couldn’t wait and ended-up giving it to him the next day.  He laughed and agreed that it was just perfect for our table.  It really adds that certain “je ne sais quoi”.

I’ve also been biding my time on a certain hose reel and found it at my local Target on clearance for $12.48!!!  I’m using it next to our outdoor swing, which is in front of our house.  It definitely looks a lot nicer than a wadded-up pile of hose, which is what we’ve been sporting for the last two years.

So what have you been up to?  Has summer flown by for you, too? I know we’re busy eking-out every last little succulent bit we can before we have to go back to homework, routines and early bedtimes.  Yuck!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. Your pennant banner looks great! So glad the tutorial was helpful.
    Leigh Anne@YourHomebasedMom

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Halloween Banner « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

