RSS Feed

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I love Halloween.  It’s my absolute favorite holiday.  Sure I like the others, but Halloween holds a special place in my heart.  I love the weather. I love the decorations. I love scary movies.  I love going through haunted houses. I love the costumes and the trick-or-treating.  I love it all.  Accordingly, I got out all of my decorations and went to work on the house.  I didn’t get anything new this year, although, there was a certain glittery orange squirrel that I saw in HomeGoods way back in early August and didn’t buy because I had school supplies to purchase at the time.  I’ve been thinking about that glittery orange squirrel ever since and actually had J take me there a couple of weekends ago.  I ran in, super excited, only to find that all the Halloween stuff was clearanced-out, picked through and shoved on one shelf.  No glittery orange squirrel.  Christmas was EVERYWHERE.  I didn’t cry, but I wanted to a little bit.  J, who thought the idea of a glittery orange squirrel was sort of stupid, felt bad for me and my abject disappointment, giving me those awkward man-pats on the back and promising that we’d keep looking for a glittery orange squirrel.  You know you are loved when a man who hates glitter with a passion is willing to help you procure a glitter squirrel.  Yes, I am a lucky girl.

At any rate, I made do with what I already have, which is the thrifty thing to do anyway.

What about you?  What’s your favorite holiday and what do you do to get ready?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Glittery Orange Owl! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  2. Pingback: How can it already be time for Halloween? | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

