RSS Feed

Refining

It’s been two and a half years since we moved into our house.  That seems really crazy to me because it feels like we just moved in yesterday.  We’ve made a lot of progress but still haven’t touched the man cave/bar in the basement.  That’s going to take a lot of gumption and time on my part, neither of which I seem to have anymore.  It doesn’t stop my urges to work on the house, though, refining some things that have sat untouched since got here.  One of the things I want to tweak a little is the sitting area by our fireplace.

I bought these chairs off Craigslist from a guy that thought they might be Heywood Wakefield.  I don’t know if they are or not and it really doesn’t matter to me.  I love the way they look and thought they would be perfect for the living room.  I had originally contacted the guy about buying a desk he had listed and ended-up buying not only the desk, but these chairs, a green chair that I love, but have no real use for, and a bunch of 50’s or 60’s decorative ashtrays that were too cool to leave behind.  It was the orange upholstery that really sold me on these chairs.  It’s not the original upholstery, though.

Dr. Louis Ryterband had good taste.  I would like to know what they looked like before, just out of curiosity.  The biggest problem with these chairs is that while they are ascetically perfect, they are not very comfortable in which to sit long term.  I used some pillows that I already owned, and looked okay color-wise, to make them a little more cushy in the back.  It does help somewhat but they’re starting to look ratty.  I also decided that a couple of footstools would help make the chairs a little more comfortable for an extended sit by the crackling fire.  I think making these small changes will make this space more inviting and we’ll actually use our fireplace more than we currently do.

I started randomly searching for pillows because I wasn’t sure what I wanted exactly and found these Barnes pillows at Crate and Barrel.  I love the colors and these would be swell except for two things:  First,  they’re 20″x20″, which is way too big for these chairs and, two, they’re $35.00 a piece on sale.  They’re perfect but out of my budget and size-range.

I knew I was on the right track, however, and started searching for fabric to make what I want.  I found a gorgeous batik on Fabric.com that is also perfect.  In fact, I think I like it more but it’s a tough call.  It’s definitely in my price range and I can make the pillows any size I want, so DIY wins out.  My mother-in-law already surprise ordered the fabric for me which I found out about because I panicked that a yard had been sold and I hadn’t placed my order yet.  She ‘fessed-up and now I’m squealy with anticipation.  Thanks, Mommy!

I’m going to buy some pillow inserts from Joann Fabrics and use a coupon I have to get 40% off.  I haven’t decided if I’m going to go with 16″x16″ or 16″x12″ yet.  Still contemplating that one.  I asked J what he thought and he just gave me this look.  I know putting more than 5 minutes worth of thought on pillow size is probably more than a little crazy, especially when you realize it’s more like days worth of thought you’ve put into it and asked your beloved, your inamorato, one too many times what size pillow he prefers.  I can’t seem to help myself.

I also ordered these footstools from ebay.  I don’t know what the quality is like because they haven’t arrived but I’ll let you know.  I couldn’t find any reviews for them online although I did find them on Amazon.  With shipping they cost more than the ebay seller was asking, so I just ordered them from there.  They open for storage, which is nice, and they claim they can be used for additional seating.  Again, I won’t know about that until they come.  Crossing my fingers, though, that they’re not too shoddy.  The size is right and if the color is true, or close to true, they should look nice as well.

I’m excited to see my little seating area come together just in time to have a nice cozy fire.  What about you?  Any tweaking or polishing going on in your house?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Refining Part II « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

