RSS Feed

Saturday Night Fever

Normally, J and I spend most of our Saturday nights dancing away to the epic sounds of the 70’s.  That’s just how we roll.

This past Saturday, though, we uncharacteristically found ourselves at home with not a lot to do.  I decided that it was as good as time as any to Liquid Gold the heck out of the sliding wood panels we have that separates the dining area from the kitchen.  These wooden panels are one of my favorite features in this house.  I’ve never seen any others like them and everyone that comes over to our house has to move the panels around.  They’re just too cool not to mess with, I swear.  If we want, we can completely isolate the kitchen from the rest of the house as demonstrated in the picture below.

We can also remove all of the panels and completely open the kitchen to the house if we’re having a party or something of that nature. Most of the time, though, we have them in a staggered formation, as shown below.

As I said, this past Saturday night we found ourselves without a filled dance card and I decided to finally tackle the panels.  For one thing, they’ve had some sort of paint/spackle on them since we moved in two and a half  years ago that I’ve been meaning to fix, but just haven’t had the time or something like that.

  

I scraped off the paint/spackle, Liquid Golded the wood and now they are nice and shiny.

Bad night shot, I know, but it was Saturday night baby.  What do you expect?  I also discovered something that had completely escaped me the whole time we’ve been here.  “Tate”, I yelled excitedly to J, “you’ve got to come in here right away”.  “Coming Poncho”, Tate replied, because we call each other that sometimes for no good reason.  “Look”, I said, “the panels are different on the kitchen side.  They’re tongue and groove on the dining room side and slats on the kitchen side.  Did you know that?”   Tate calmly replied that, yes, he knew that and, in fact, had noticed it when we toured the house.  Why doesn’t anyone ever tell me anything?

Kitchen side above with the slats.  Dining room side below with the tongue and groove (you can really see the paint/spackle that I removed).

So, yeah, that’s pretty much a big Saturday night here in the not-so-big city.  What did you do this weekend?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. I love them, and they turned out pretty good, you know!
    We spent the whole weekend at a swimming competition, supporting our daughter. Very tiring, but then again it was worth it, she’s going to the nationals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

