RSS Feed

Refining Part II

In our last episode, we had this ineffective and cluttered-looking sitting area by the fireplace (too much brick-a-brack).

I ordered a couple of footstools off ebay and some fabric to make some new pillows.

The footstools came and they are pretty nice for the $26 dollars and change that I paid for each of them.  I looked today and they’re now listed at a higher price of $31.49.  I don’t know if that’s still a good deal, or not, because I really didn’t do a lot of footstool research and I looked at absolutely zero of them in person.  I think these footstools are fairly well constructed but the materials are obviously on the cheaper side given the price.  I sat on one of them and it felt very stable.  I’m not that big of a person but I’m not tiny, either, so your average joe could use it for additional seating when needed.  I did tell my kids not to sit or stand on them, especially stand.  You’d think at their ages you wouldn’t have to state the obvious, but yeah, you do.  The only imminent problem I see is that the quality of foam at the top is poor and I think they’re going to start to look “squished” sooner rather than later.  I need to look at them more closely and see if I can replace that somehow with a higher quality foam.  Otherwise, for the price and my budget, I’m pretty pleased with them.

The fabric arrived on the same day as the footstools but I didn’t get to make the pillows until yesterday.  I made the pillow covers using the same method I used for the ones on my outdoor swing.  I did, however, make the covers an inch smaller this time to give them a more fitted look.  After all of my pillow size deliberation,  I ended-up going with 14×14 pillow inserts I was using in the basement and swapped the ratty ones from upstairs to down there.

See how the blue picks-up the blue in the painting?  I’m trying to add a few touches of that color in the living room to break-up all the orange/rust that’s going on in there.  I love orange but I think it’s a little overkill.  I don’t know.  I’m not a designer by any stretch of the imagination.  I just look at lots of magazines and blogs to get an idea of what’s pleasing to me and then run with it. I’ve seen this color as an accent in orange rooms before and think it’s a nice color contrast.  I like how the pillows turned-out.  I tried really, really hard to do a good job because I wanted them to look store-bought, ha ha.

The only thing I don’t like about them is, dare I say it, I think they’re a little small.  Yes, I know I’m over-thinking the whole pillow size thing again but they do seem just a tad bit on the small side.  J suggested that I could remake them.  That’s not happening anytime soon, let me tell ya.  Those suckers took me 4 and a half hours because that’s how long it takes me to do something carefully and I didn’t have fun.  Plus, those two used nearly the whole yard of fabric.  I did scrap a few pieces together and made a little square for the glasses in our expedit bar on which to sit.

I really love that fabric.  It’s just so pretty.  No, no one paid me to say it either.  It just looks like a painting or something.  I really like batiks, though.  They’re right up my alley.

So, that’s what I did yesterday.  What about you?  Did you brave the Black Friday weekend madness or stay tucked inside, working on your own house refining?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

7 responses »

  1. I think that blue with the orange/rust looks fabulous! And to put it under the glasses on the bookcases is brilliant! Just a little peek of unexpected color always makes me happy…

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Christmas Tree Topper « sugarshellandbutterknife

  3. I really love the fabric you picked out, too!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: My Fireplace on Retro Renovation « sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: Pillow Re-do | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

