RSS Feed

Christmas Tree Topper

As promised, I’m back with the next installment of “Getting DIY Christmas Crafty”.  For the last 8 years, or so, we haven’t had a real Christmas tree topper.  K made one in kindergarten that we’ve been using every year, although it’s not really a topper as much as a paper star that’s propped in the tree.  This year I decided I want a real tree topper, which is proving harder to find than I thought.  First of all, I went to my local Target which had zero toppers of any kind.  I also checked Meijer and a few other places without much luck.  I took to the internet but the ones I found were either way out of my price range or not what I have in mind.  I decided to make one, at least as a temporary place-holder, until I find the one I’m really looking for.

DSC01434

This was a pretty easy project.  I found the image in Better Homes and Gardens Celebrate the Season 2012.  My dad has bought me these books for the last couple of years and they’re really nice.  They have lots of great ideas in them, several of which I’ve used in my own holiday decorating.  In this instance, I photocopied the image and cut it out. I like the vintage-looking Santa, which is more along the lines of what I’m going for this year.   Using the straight edge of a file folder, since my children have absconded with every ruler in the house, I enlarged the star shape to use as a template for the red layer.  I cut two red stars from some leftover scrap booking paper I have and cut one star from the file folder to sandwich in between to give the whole thing some stability.  I glued all the layers together and let them dry.  While the star was drying, I found a toilet paper tube and cut a length of the red paper to wrap around it, gluing it into place.  I affixed the star to the tube using glue and tape, letting it dry a good long time, and that was it.  Easy-peasy.

DSC01435

It’s a little crooked but I prefer to think it just adds to the charm.  Personally, I like it.  I know I’m not the best crafter in the world.  I get impatient and a lot of times I make things because I either can’t find what I want or can’t afford what I want.  Sometimes I try to be really careful, as with my pillows last week, but most of the time I’m just not.  This project was completely free since I only used what I had on hand, which is a bonus.  If you have more patience, nicer materials and more talent, you could create a kick-ass Christmas tree topper.  In fact, if you do, please share links or pictures with me!  I’d love to see other interpretations of my masterpiece, ha ha.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

