RSS Feed

Shag!

Josh Agle is an American artist, otherwise know as Shag.  I’ve loved his artwork for a while now, although I didn’t know it was his until recently.  After I found-out what his name was, I found some postcard prints on ebay that  I could afford.  I think I spent around $18 for all three, which is still a lot for some postcards.  His prints are really expensive, though, at least with regard to my budget, so this is a way I can purchase his artwork and still make my mortgage payment.  I bought some RIBBA frames from IKEA last weekend that were on sale for $.99 a piece.  They come with a mat and are very substantial feeling.  The only thing I don’t like about these frames is the hanging mechanism, which we still need to address.  However, I think these little art pieces look fabulous, especially for $21 total.

DSC01446

DSC01470

The one with the bull holding the cat and eight ball is my favorite.  The title is “It is Certain”, which I think is great.

DSC01471

I love them.  I keep looking at them, noticing new little details I missed before.  We haven’t hung them yet, due to the aforementioned hanging issue with the frames, but I’ll let you know when we do.

I think this is a great way to get some very nice looking artwork for a fraction of the price.  Granted they’re small pieces, but grouped together they make something that looks much bigger that it really is. Have you done something similar?  Please share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. Oooo, I love these! Really retro, which I love. And not too expensive at all, if you get to have something you love in your space.

    Reply
  2. Amazing piece of artwork! Very affordable too!

    What a nice buy! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I didn’t know about him, but they really are great! So retro!!!! I think they do look perfect in those frames. Can’t wait to see how they look on the walls!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Shag is Up! « sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. I can tell by the art work that you like that you have a really fun personality… I love the quirkiness of the art you like. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m still enjoying them immensely. At least once a day I stand in front of them for a moment and just take them in. They make me smile 😉 Yes, I have been called fun before but, you know, one person’s fun is another person’s obnoxious, ha ha. I like the things that you’re doing on your blog, including the wrapping station and spending time in Haiti. I’ll have to read more when I get some more time.

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Even More Shag | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

