RSS Feed

Gettin’ Ready for Ol’ St. Nick

I’ve been working like an elf around here, getting everything ready for the big day.  As it so happens, when I pulled our lights out this year, they had stopped working so we decided to go ahead and invest in some new ones. After some discussion, we decided to try LED’s. I bought some larger red lights for my tree and some that are “warm” white for outside. I don’t really like the intensity of some of them, so I stayed away from the cool whites, blues, etc.  I paid $8.50 a box which is about double the price of the incandescent multi lights I saw for the same length at my local Big Lots. Two boxes worked for my tree, so not a huge investment. We are pleased with them. The red is really warm at night and not too harsh, which is what I feared. The white lights on the front of the house look warm and pretty from the street. They do stay cool, too. We keep checking them and they are not even remotely warm to the touch, which does allay my maternal fear of burning Christmas trees and all that entails.  The real test will be when we pull them out to use next year. If we get the kind of lifespan they claim, they would be worth it, I guess. My heart still belongs to the multi-colored blinking incandescents of my childhood, though, I must say.

When we had the tree all wrapped-up in it’s new red lights, the kids and I collectively decided to only use balls this year.  Even though I’m sentimentally attached to all of their sweet little handmade ornaments and the wonderfully meaningful collection we’ve amassed through the years, we just decided we wanted something more “classy” this year, ha ha.  Classy is our middle name, after all.  So, without further ado, here’s what we came up with.

DSC01496

DSC01507

Those candy canes are at least 6 or 7 years old!  I just keep reusing them and warn everyone not to eat the candy canes on the tree.  If you store them in a plastic zip bag, they stay fresh year after year after year…

DSC01478

The red lights do, aesthetically, feel really warm at night.  J calls it the “devil tree”, ha ha.  He says it looks like it’s covered in little chili peppers.

DSC01499

I finally get to display my snowman/snowgirl!

DSC01503

I brought the leg lamp up from the basement since it seemed like a low-key way to decorate for the holidays.  You remember the one, right?  It just screams “classy”.

leglamp2

I didn’t display our entire nutcracker collection this year.  Instead, I selected a few and used them as the centerpiece of our dining room table.  That was another great idea I got from the Better Homes and Gardens Celebrate the Holidays 2012 book my dad bought me.   (Thanks, Daddy!)

DSC01522

DSC01521

DSC01515

I even tried to step-up my wrapping game after seeing some of Rebecca at Older and Wisor’s fabulous skills.  She is the best wrapper on the planet, yo (I’m looking at you Snoop Dogg).

DSC01490

So what about you?  Are you ready for the holidays?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Wow Jenny, I love how your house looks! It definitely looks classy, and warm, I like it very much! Oh, and your nutcracker centerpiece? Genius!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

