RSS Feed

The Stockings Were Hung on the Window with Care

I got some new stockings this year.  It’s not that I don’t love our old stockings and all of their attached sentimental memories, but I really wasn’t feeling Mickey Mouse this year, whose figure graces both kids’ stockings.  I think there are definitely two camps when it comes to holiday decorating – the sentimental camp and the aesthetic camp.  This year I’m feeling somewhere in between.  I love all of our family decorations but I wanted to do something more low-key this year.  When I saw these stockings at Brookstone, I really liked them.  They are definitely low-key.  Plus, they were only $.98 a piece, marked-down from $6.99, so a total $3.97 investment isn’t too bad.

DSC01533

(It’s so gray outside with no sunshine in the immediate or near future. Blah.) They’re made of a metal mesh of some sort, kind of like very fine window screen.

DSC01535

I made everyone a tag that matches my thematic Christmas wrapping paper this year.

DSC01534

Our “real” stockings aren’t going anywhere. They’re much too precious to get rid of and I’m sure they’ll be making an appearance again.  These just seemed like an inexpensive and fun way to change things up.

What about you?  To what holiday decorating camp do you belong?

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

Leave a Reply

