RSS Feed

Impulse Purchase

I was Christmas shopping for others.  I was not shopping for myself. I just want to clarify that up front.  We were at IKEA, which is a major weakness for me.  I probably shouldn’t have been there in the first place, but I couldn’t help myself when I saw this pillow cover.  At only $5.00, I couldn’t pass it up.  I bought the standard $2.99 insert which made this 20×20 pillow a pretty good deal for $7.99 total.  It fits into my ever-expanding bedroom collection quite nicely.

DSC01474

I also bought this kitchen timer in green for $1.99.  (I’m too lazy to take a picture, but it looks just like this one from IKEA’s website.)  I purchased it because every kitchen timer we have it battery-operated and they’re all dead.  We have a timer on our oven but I always forget to set it for some reason.  This is the kind that you wind and it ticks loudly until it shrilly rings.  It’s perfect for me because I get distracted and it’s hard to ignore it as opposed to the battery-operated timer’s soft “beep, beep, beep”.  Plus, I love the colors!  They’re very happy colors. I might buy a yellow one the next time I’m there because I could use more than one timer.  So far, it’s worked great!  When I was at the store, I set it to make sure it worked and it went off in our cart 10 minutes later in a completely different department.  There was a poor lady in the aisle that nearly jumped a mile.  I felt really bad and apologized.  I told her I had set it to make sure that it worked and she laughed.  She said it was definitely working, ha ha.  Thankfully she was a good sport about it.

stam-timer__0107151_PE256747_S4

 

So what about you?  Did you buy anything for yourself when you were out holiday shopping for others?

 

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. I’d have bought that pillow, too! Love it!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Joss & Main Taste on an IKEA Budget « sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

