RSS Feed

Joss & Main Taste on an IKEA Budget

Joss & Main, a sort of sale-priced designer warehouse, is frequently mentioned on a lot of blogs I regularly read.  You have to sign-up in order to buy from them, which is something I don’t normally do, mainly to keep my e-mail traffic down.  Over Christmas break, when I had some downtime, I finally bit the bullet and signed-on to see what all the hoopla is about.  There are a lot of pretty, pretty things on there, that’s for sure.  I sat and drooled, lightly touched my computer screen and fantasized about where I could put all of these pretty, pretty things.  That’s as far as it got, though – fantasizing.  There’s about as much chance of me buying these things as there is I will become Mrs. Sean Connery (circa 1967).  So, definitely still a chance, I’d say, totally.   It did get me thinking about my more realistic IKEA-budget, though, and how I can still have the sort of look I want without going broke.  Here are some things I found on Joss & Main with their more affordable IKEA counterparts.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 10.42.20 AM

These ghost chairs are cool and I’ve seen them all over the web in a variety of settings and they always look great. We need two additional chairs for our dining room table for when guests come over and I think these would be perfect. It’s the clear acrylic that really does it for me. They’re modern and sleek, which I really like.  However, even at the discounted price of $1,240.00 for a set of 4 ($310 each), they’re still way out of my budget.  IKEA has an acrylic chair that I’ve been considering that is way more budget-friendly at $79.99  a piece.  I’ve seen this chair in person and it’s a substantial piece that I think would work in our house.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 10.49.46 AM

Seeing this pillow on Joss & Main reminded me a lot of the one I bought a couple of weeks ago at IKEA.  Obviously they are different colors and I do love this color of blue.  However, the black and white one I picked-up at IKEA has the same feeling as the one from Joss & Main, if that makes sense.  The blue one is available in two sizes but the one pictured is 18X18.  It’s 100% cotton and includes a down insert, which is nice.  The one I got from IKEA is 20 X 20, 100% cotton, with two available insert options.  I bought the synthetic one for $2.99 but a nicer down one is available for $6.99, making the black and white pillow a really great buy.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 10.55.51 AM

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 11.07.48 AM

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 11.08.15 AM

If you’re into Audrey Hepburn, as K is, both Joss & Main and IKEA have artwork that’s right up your alley.  Joss & Main has a nice framed print of her that isn’t a bad price for the seeming quality of the piece.  It’s a generous 24X36, framed and matted.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 10.42.07 AM

IKEA has a canvas print that is a little more “artsy”, clocking in at 35 1/2 x 35 1/2.  It’s nice too and I actually prefer it to the framed print, personally.  K is totally into Audrey Hepburn right now as a style icon and loves both of these. She’s in the planning stages of re-doing her bedroom and if she wants some Audrey art, she can save $17 by going to IKEA.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 10.48.57 AM

Finally, I saw this rug on Joss & Main and immediately thought of the popular Gislev rug from IKEA.  Granted, the one from Joss & Main is 100% wool and the Gislev is 100% polypropylene (which actually sounds scary but is apparently used in a wide-range of products and applications).  They are roughly the same size, though, in the 5X7 range-ish.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 11.05.57 AM

I guess the determining factor here would be whether I was going for long-term commitment or quick fling.  If it’s long-term commitment you’re after, the wool rug is going to last longer, look nicer longer and is probably bio-degradeable over the very long term.  If it’s just a fling, the Gislev wins, hands-down.  At only $19.99, it’s a winner, although I’m not sure about bio-degradeable.

Screen shot 2012-12-26 at 11.06.14 AM

IKEA is not the only place to find some good buys.  ebay, Craigslist, Target and Goodwill are other places I frequent to find the things I want at prices I can afford.  I love looking at sites like Joss & Main to get ideas.  I find my inspiration and then go searching for more reasonably priced alternatives.  It’s a necessity if I want my home to look the way I envision.  Also, it’s a lot of fun to create a look on a budget.  It’s a challenge and I like that.  A few months ago K confided to me that her friends told her they thought she was “rich” because her house is so nice.  She laughed and told them that our house isn’t nice because we’re rich, it’s because her mom is crazy, cheap and has no other creative outlet (she didn’t use those exact words, but I’m sure that’s what she meant).  She told them about my blog reading, idea gathering and bargain hunting.  She told them how all of our furniture is either IKEA, hand-me-down or from Craigslist.  She also told them how all of our artwork is inherited or from thrift stores and that all of our paint comes from the mis-tint shelf for $5.00 a gallon.  We make our own curtains and pillows and buy our wool rugs from Ollie’s Bargain Outlet (always Cheap Ollie’s to me).  K thought it was funny since I had just been complaining about having to send in yet another $5.00 to school for something or the other.  (Yes, I think $5.00 is a lot of money, especially when both kids have their hands out every week for something.)

So, where do you bargain shop?  Spill your secrets!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. I signed up for Joss and Main and recently One Kings Lane and Fab (the later two are waaaay out of my price range). J&M takes some sifting but I’ve snagged an item or two for cheaper than you’d find on Amazon or Overstock. I do have to resist the urge to deck out my entire house into an Ikea showcase—it’s so affordable and everything is good design!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean about IKEA, ha ha. I could happily live in the rooms in their catalog but have to watch myself so I’m not recreating them at home. I LOVE Joss and Main and have looked at it every single day since I signed-up. I haven’t bought anything yet, but I feel it coming… If I had a bigger budget it would be another story. Thank goodness for IKEA, though, because I can more easily indulge my cravings.

      Reply
  2. Hi Jenny!

    I’m finally home from the holidays, so I’m catching up with everything I’ve been missing.

    This is such a great post! And I totally agree with you! I started my blog mainly to inspire others and try to show them that good design doesn’t mean spending all your money on it. I really believe that everybody can have beautiful homes, no matter if they haven’t got the big budget. I certainly don’t have it, so I’m just like you, searching for good finds (believe me, it’s harder here without ikea, target, or craiglist) and doing things for myself.

    Actually, I had the chance to visit Ikea for the very first time ever this last December, and I was sooo happy and wishful they do bring it here sometime soon. I would love that!

    I wish you a very happy 2013, filled with joy and good surprises!!!!!

    Reply
    • Hi Rocio! I hope you had a nice holiday!

      I’m glad you finally got to visit IKEA. I didn’t realize they weren’t in Mexico, so I hope they bring one to you soon. It’s one of my favorite places to go. I can spend hours in there just getting inspired. I don’t get to go very often because it’s still not very close to me but at least we have one in our state. If you come to Ohio, let me know, and we’ll go together!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

