RSS Feed

Free Upgrade

I don’t know what it is about the new year that makes me want to organize everything in sight.  I guess it’s the blank slate, a whole year ahead with endless possibilities and a feeling of renewal. I want everything around me to be clean, neat and tidy, just like the new year itself.  So when I looked at this mess on Sunday afternoon, I had to make it better.

DSC01578

I’ve been piling crap on here for a really long time although I’ve occasionally shifted the crap around, mostly to make room for more crap.  Although I can’t stand the term from sheer overuse, but for lack of a better one, this is our “landing strip” where everything goes to die.  When I laid everything on the table so I could sort through it, I found coupons that expired in 2011 and school notes for projects due in 2010.  After nearly three years in this house it was time to create a functional space.

I went into the living room to put on my thinking cap (figurative, not literal) and spied the solution on my desk.

DSC01135r1

Just look at all the “stuff” on my petite, not made for tons of “stuff”, mid-century desk.  I love that desk organizer because it’s beautiful and was given to me by a dear friend that passed away a few years ago.  I wouldn’t dream of getting ride of it but it’s  too big for my desk.  A lot of times I don’t even work at my desk if I need to spread out, which is fairly often.  Since I work from home, I need my desk to be functional as a real work space.  I decided the organizer makes a lot more sense in the kitchen.

DSC01580

That’s much better.  I created a few file folders for my coupons, school/kid related notes and take-out menus.  Now everything has a home to go to instead being added to an enormous pile.  I was also able to move some of the items that I don’t regularly use for work, such as scissors, off my desk, which gives me even more space.

DSC01584

That’s much better, too.  I was contemplating purchasing a new, smaller organizer because I thought it would give me more space but, in the end, simply re-purposing the one I already have makes a lot more sense.  It works better for a landing strip and my desk has way more room without an organizer at all. For the desk accessories, I just went looking around my house and found some items that would work, such as the candle holder turned pen cup and magazine holder from my craft area.  Therefore, the total cost for these improvements was $0.00!

Once more for kicks.

Before:

DSC01578

After:

DSC01580

Before:

DSC01135r1

After:

DSC01584

The project was not without bloodshed though.  After I finished our little landing strip, I kept going into the kitchen to admire my handiwork and the nice, orderly space.  At one point, I walked in backwards so could keep looking at it, tripped over the step stool and gashed my shin.  J came running in because of the loud crash and asked me what happened.  I told him I tripped over the stool and he asked me how I landed like I did.  I had to admit to the whole walking backwards to keep looking at my project thing, which was sort of embarrassing.  Does anyone else do that? Once you finish a project you’re pleased with do you keep going back to it just so you can admire your work?  Surely I’m not the only one. If I am, never mind, I just made up the whole tripping over the stool thing as a joke, ha ha.  Yeah…

Anyway, what about you?  Does the new year put you in an organizing mood, too?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. I think we all feel the clutter and need to organize after the excesses of the holidays. I’ve been working on the same here at my humble abode. It is satisfying to conquer the small things.

    Reply
  2. Both places sure look better now! Well, as you now, the new year gets me in the same mood as you. I still have lots of places to declutter and organize, but like you said, at least we’re making some progress, huh?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The January Cure 2013 « sugarshellandbutterknife

  4. Pingback: Hello 2014! | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

