RSS Feed

Perfect!

I had purchased a cheap IKEA clock for the bathroom but it never kept time and it’s ticking was really loud, so loud you could hear it at the other end of the house.  J hated it and one night around 4:30 a.m., he jumped out of bed, ripped it off the wall, yanked the battery out of it and I haven’t seen it since.  It was really okay because I had purchased it for $1.99 to use while I continued to search for the perfect clock.  That was over a year ago.  In the interim, we had a nail sticking out of the wall just waiting for a new clock to come hang on it.  I had narrowed my search down to a few but there was one I found myself coming back to, so when my family exchanged names for Christmas this year, and I was asked for a list, this was the only thing on it.  DSC01565

I found this retro-inspired ball clock on Amazon.  It looks exactly how I imagined it would.DSC01566

It ties-in with my curtain fabric, too.  (J picked-out this fabric, by the way.  He found it at a fabric store that I had drug him into and brought it over to show me that it would look good in our bathroom.  He has the best eye, I swear.  The fabric is perfect, too, like he is to me 🙂 )DSC01588

I’m really pleased with this clock for the aesthetic it provides and the fact that it keeps time very well without the loud ticking.  I have to be honest, the overall quality is not that great.  Up close, it’s really cheaply made and the balls and clock itself are all plastic, although the spokes are metal.  Hanging on the wall, though, it looks very nice and much higher quality than it really is.  At $27.51 it’s probably a little overpriced but after having searched (and searched and searched and searched) I determined that the vintage clocks I really like are way out of my budget and some of the newer clocks, while probably a higher quality, are really expensive as well.  It’s perfect for my needs but it might not work in all situations.  We’ll see how it does for the long term but so far, so good.  If that changes, I’ll let you know.DSC01569

Did you get any long-coveted items for Christmas?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. It’s perfect, and it does match your curtains!!!! I love how it looks! As for me, I didn’t get any long-coveted item for Christmas. Hopefully for my birthday which is close!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

