RSS Feed

The January Cure 2013

Raise your hand if you’re participating in the January Cure 2013 over at Apartment Therapy.  Mine’s waving high and proud.  So far I’ve been staying on task, at least for the most part.  That actually kind of surprises me because I didn’t start with very high expectations for myself, mainly due to time constraints.  I’ve been able to carve out the time on weekends and during the evenings to get my “chores” done.  Right now we’re well over half-way finished and I’m happy with what I’ve accomplished so far.

Day one had us making a list of projects that need to be done around our homes.  I already have an ongoing list but I brought it out for some fine-tuning.  I have quite a lot on my list but day seven had us pick-out one project that we want to complete this month.  I chose re-caulking the bathtub because that’s something that’s been on my list for a good two years now and desperately needs done.  I accomplished that task this past weekend over the course of six hours, or so.  It was tedious and time-consuming but oh-so-worth-it in the end.  I love our original 1956 blue American Standard tub  and want to preserve her the best I can.  While I was in there, I worked on cleaning the grout some more.  The grout is in decent shape for the most part although I did plug a few loose areas with some of the caulk to give it some water resistance.  The grout is pretty yellow, though, from the chain-smoking previous owners.  We have spent the last three years fighting nicotine stains on nearly every surface of this house including grout, light fixtures, cabinet doors, walls, ceilings, light switches, you name it.  It’s much better than it was but they still pop-up here and there.  After some intense one-on-one time with the tub, things were looking much whiter and brighter.

DSC01615

Another task was to pick some art to frame.  I already have a piece of art that I’ve been wanting framed for a year.  Last January we took the kids to see a Norman Rockwell exhibit at the DAI.  I was enchanted with a lot of his paintings but one really resonated with me, I guess, and when I saw this postcard print in the gift shop, I bought it with the intention of hanging it in the kitchen.  J finally took it to the framer the other day and it will be ready later this week.  Normally I frame my own artwork but this was a piece that I wanted done properly.  I thought about buying one of the IKEA Ribba frames that I used for my Shag prints but decided against it after I realized the matting was going to cut-off too much of the picture.  It’s a small piece so it’s not that expensive to have it professionally done.  Plus, they’re nice and always give us a AAA discount, which helps.  This piece is titled “Coming and Going” and looks an awful lot like some of the family trips I went on as a kid.  Everyone’s so fresh-faced and eager on the way and devastatingly exhausted on the way back.

Going and Coming 2

Last week we were supposed to create a landing strip, which I did here, so I was a little ahead of the game.  It’s still neat and tidy, I might add.

DSC01580

Each weekend we’re supposed to buy fresh flowers for our homes, as a gift to our homes.  I love fresh flowers but I haven’t actually done this step yet.  For one thing they’re a little bit expensive and I honestly haven’t been anywhere that sells fresh flowers at the appointed time.  K and I did go to IKEA last weekend and I purchased this cactus, so I’m going to count that as my fresh flower purchase.  Plus, hopefully, it will last longer, so a better overall investment.DSC01612

We were actually supposed to work on our bedroom this past weekend when I was re-caulking the tub.  Our bedroom isn’t in bad shape except for one key area – J’s closet.  It’s the only thing in there that hasn’t been touched in the three years we’ve been here.  He got a new computer and spent the weekend hooking that up and playing with his new toy.  He wasn’t interested in cleaning out his closest.  I said I’d do it for him but I opened the door and promptly closed it again.  I’ll help him but I’m not doing this alone.DSC01655

You can’t even see the stacks of t-shirts that are on the floor.  I think he’s kept every t-shirt he’s ever received since he was 12 years old.  I’m serious.  I’ll have to count them when we actually clean this out and give you the final count.  It’s probably in the hundreds.  It’s on the agenda, but it’s going to have to wait.  Overall I’m pleased with our progress during the January Cure 2013, though.  We’ve even accomplished some things not mentioned, so definitely kicking some heiney and taking names.  That’s how we roll.  Word.

So what about you? If you’re doing the Cure, what projects have you been working on?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. I LOVE this idea! I definitely have my own list (like unpacking the boxes still in the garage from our move a year and a half ago – yikes!) but I may go ahead and try this anyway! Can’t wait to see more of your progress!

    Reply
    • I’ll post again at the end and maybe do a more complete timeline. It’s actually pretty fun, having the calendar and trying to stick to it. I still have unpacked boxes from almost three years ago, so I completely understand about that! This is the year, though, let’s pledge together, ha ha!

      Reply
  2. Amazing progress, Jenny! I love your tub!

    I read about the Cure a few days ago, and I absolutely loved it. I wish I had read about it early this year, because I probably would have followed it too. As you know, January has been my organizing month, and it has been quite difficult to find the time, but at least we have done some progress. There’s still a lot of clutter to handle, but I hope to finish soon. Organizing and getting things done around the house gives me the energy I need to start my other projects, so I’d better get going!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Cord Control « sugarshellandbutterknife

  4. Pingback: Charley Harper « sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: The Floor is Scraped and Getting Sanded Tomorrow! | sugarshellandbutterknife

  6. Pingback: Let’s try this again… | sugarshellandbutterknife

  7. Pingback: Ektorp and the Style Cure | sugarshellandbutterknife

  8. Pingback: Hello 2014! | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

