RSS Feed

My Beloved Crock Pot

DSC01672

This has been one of those weeks – two sick kids,  Tuesday night futsal games, soccer practice, lots of money-paying work, etc.  In other words, par for the course.  That’s when I haul out my trusty old workhorse to make dinner for me, or practically make dinner for me.  I still have to add the ingredients, although if anyone ever invents a Star Trek replicator, I’m buying one, regardless of cost.

However, until that happens, I’ll stick with my trusty Crock Pot.  Last night we had the ubiquitous roast with onion soup mix and cream of chicken soup, that looks gross to start and somehow magically transforms into a delight that even Gordon Ramsay would devour.  I also made a chicken and vegetable lasagna the other night that was a surprising hit with my family.  I’ve made soups, briskets, ginger chicken, lasagnas (both regular and vegetable), cassoulets and all manner of other dishes in this thing.  A few years ago, my dad got me “Today’s Creative Crock Pot, the Original Slow Cooker Cookbook” for Christmas and I’ve made good use of it, although there is a plethora of crock pot recipes on the internet and lots of crock pot cookbooks in libraries if you don’t happen to have a crock pot cookbook handy.  There’s nothing better than knowing that dinner will be done when you get home from your  Thursday night 6:40 p.m. indoor soccer game.  It’s certainly a lot cheaper than running through a fast food drive-thru on the way home and (usually) a lot better tasting (unless you’re craving fries).  Next to J, CP might be my best friend.

So what about you?  Do you have a crock pot that you use on a regular basis?  What are some of your favorite recipes?  I’m always looking for some new ideas.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

5 responses »

  1. Mine is cooking dinner right now! 🙂

    Reply
  2. How many quarts is your crockpot? I’m wanting to buy one but I keep looking at all of the sizes and I get confused and worried that I’ll waste money and buy the wrong size.

    Reply
    • Hi Eartha! It’s a 6 quart oval. In fact I have a roast in it right this minute, ha ha;-) The one I have can easily hold a 3-4 pound roast with potatoes and carrots, a whole chicken or a good size turkey breast. I can also make a large batch of chili in there with no problem. If you aren’t going to cook anything that large then you could go with a 4-5 quart, but if you think you might need bigger, the 6 quart is probably the way to go. You can get them even larger but I haven’t found a need for it so far and I’ve used it for rather large parties, etc. Hopefully that helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

