RSS Feed

Awesome Retro Postcard

We went to St. Louis this past weekend because the kids had a long four-day weekend with a COTA day and President’s Day.  We had so much fun and our trip included a visit to the famous Arch of course.  I wanted to get a cheesy souvenir arch but we couldn’t find one that we really wanted, so we settled for magnet for the fridge.  The lady handed K the bag and  she looked down in it and said “Mama, they gave us this postcard for free”.  I took one look and snatched it out of her hand.  It was an awesome retro print of the Arch with which I immediately fell in love.  “I’m framing this”, I breathed heavily. J quickly said “no, you’re not” in a too loud voice which caused people to turn and stare.  “Why not”, I sulked, because I already knew the answer, which is we already have too much art with the Shag, the Norman Rockwell and the Charley Harper, and not enough places to hang it all.  Just look at it though.  Isn’t it adorable?DSC01730

I’ve since made the mistake of googling (is that a real verb now?) “Retro Ranger Collection”, which is printed on the back of the card.  Look what else I found!!!!

1534

I want these so bad it hurts but I honestly have nowhere to put them, although I have been entertaining the idea of putting them in my closet and J will be none the wiser. (I will have complete world domination I tell you, I will!! Bwahahaha…)  Anyway, you can even get a set of 16 postcards for $10.00 from this place.  It is sorely tempting but I will abstain, I swear.  I am buying a frame for the Arch card, though, because I want to, I’m going to be 40 this year and no one can tell me otherwise.  So there.  I have no idea where I’ll put it but I’ll find a spot somewhere.

Do you have too much artwork?  How do you deal with a naysayer?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

One response »

  1. Pingback: On My Desk | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

